Not so trusty-rusty is GONE

in #cars7 years ago

Do you know the euphoria you get when you are just sick of something and want it gone, then along comes someone who PAYS you for it?

truckgone.jpg

About 3 years ago I needed a truck. Along came a man from Pennsylvania to come work with me. He was in a tight spot, the shop had his truck and he couldn't pay it off. He told me I could have it if I paid the shop off. $1500 later I was the proud owner of a pretty 2001 Dodge Ram 1500.

00O0O_NBgRAvKehc_1200x900.jpg

Now I'm no stranger to rust, but I didn't look this joker over at all. About 6 months later I started losing clumps every time I shut the door. Mechanically, she ran great. then a brake line rusted through and I had to replace that. I went ahead and did every brake line on the entire truck. Next went the front bearings. I tried to replace them, but evrerythign was so rusted and worn I shortly gave up. That night I found a guy with an axle from a Ram 2500 that was hit by a fallen tree. It was a heavy duty axle and the same 5 lug pattern. but the brake lines, and front drive shaft (4x4) mount were different. So with a drill, welder and patience I made it fit.

00P0P_jkFhnHQKzuQ_1200x900.jpg

01414_11PiH8gEr2a_1200x900.jpg

I saw a 1997 Black Ram 1500 about to sell at a farm auction for $600. It had no rest on it and sounded great. I won it for $650. Now I am free to sell the POS lemon!

00H0H_c9Q8ErKPGcp_1200x900.jpg

It turns out the runner up for the bid($600) just wanted the motor! We made a deal for him to come over and check the red one out, as it has the exact same motor.

20171010_173250.jpg

He showed up the next morning with $600. I signed the title and he was on his way. Now that's a trade up!

  • Sether
Sort:  

DODGE = Dead On Delivery Garage Emergency.

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @sether to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!