Fan Con/Comic Con – Cape Town, South Africa

in #cartoon6 years ago

20180429_125849.jpg

Soren Spidey and I went to the local Fan Con this past weekend. It was a first for me and I must admit it was Super Cool! There was loads of great and original local content to browse through plus I had the privilege of meeting one of @teamsouthafrica’s local artists, @moderndragon accompanied by @simplylizelle.

As it goes with these types of setup’s there wasn’t too much time to chatter away however they seem like two really cool cats… Yeah, I’ll use cats, since they like ‘em. Anyway, I had the privilege of seeing that awesome dragon skull that he created plus some fantastic drawings. You can find the dragon skull post here:

https://steemit.com/steemitartists/@moderndragon/sneak-peek-at-our-new-skill-prints

Unfortunately, I didn’t manage to snap a pic with them but hopefully we’ll get some pics before they head off to Mauritius... Damn, jealous verby! aka Completely jealous!

Righty’o, back to the convention. I noticed some artists didn’t seem to have card facilities available and I didn’t bring cash. There was just so much cool content I wanted to get my hands on and after we left I informed @moderndragon about my situation. Spidey and I went trawling through the lower parts of town in an attempt to find an ATM where I could draw some cash. Unfortunately, to no avail and by that time Spidey was too tired to walk anymore. Pfft, Superheroes’ nowadays. They don’t make them like they used to, lol.

So we didn’t return to get my hands on some more cool content and had to be satisfied with the Demagorgon… which is pretty awesome! I would still have preferred to have bought some local content however Spidey and I Were able to swipe the card before the ATM hunt for that cool little monster.

Here he is in all his glory

20180429_164028.jpg


Aaanndd a few more pics... sticky keys ;)


20180429_131013.jpg

Local comic artist (L) and writer (R)


20180429_135630.jpg

Some old school figurines


20180429_141208.jpg

Photo Bombing is totally cool around here!


Aside from the awesome content that was presented I had a chat to some of the artists and writers, picked up a few cards, dropped my Steemit pitch here and there and saw some cool people dressing up for the occasion. Most of all though, was the Fan like spirit in the air. You could feel the energy from those around you. It was friendly, fun and Superhero like.

From here on out, I will be making a point of it to become a yearly institution, provided it continues. I’ll be looking forward to taking more souvenirs home with me next time around.

Fancon Cape Town, well done!

Sort:  

You both look like you had so much fun. Soren as Spiderman is still the best and he really enjoys putting on a show.

Which i could tag along man😢😢

Looks awesome @therneau, Spidey reminds me of junior @deanoza, did you not also have a Spiderman suit back in the days?
Lovely pics and lucky you to have met one of my steemit friends @simplylizelle :)

It sure was.
I think it was Warren that had a spidey outfit. Junior @deanoza used to rock a Hulk outfit that I hijacked sometimes, lol.

LOL I forgot about the Hulk :):)

@creativetruth would love this.. Where ya been bad boy? 6 days since your last post all well that side? Cheer$;)

Yeah man, all good thanks. Just juggling the wheel of life hey. Been trying to get back into 3 times a week but every week something else happens. Ugh, it'll get better then I'll get into the swing of things again.
Thanks for asking and checking in :)

sweet bruv .. get on mithril too .. check the price on coinmarketcap its around 62nd... all u do is snap a pic and upload .. steemit for me 1 mithril lit 2 and sola three.. download lit on google play.. Lekka to hear from you bruv hang loose! Cheer$;)

Hello @therneau, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Oh, wonderful. Thank you :)