Spoon carving

in #carving6 years ago

Here is the first spoon I've ever carved.

Money shot first

I got some carving tools for Christmas, and I thought I'd give them a workout and try my hand at spoon carving.

It took a few hrs, and I used a drawknife and a spokeshave in addition to the tools shown above. I carved for about an hr and a half total, and then sanding and finish took about another hr.

The mini Bic is for scale. Its a pretty small spoon, I used some wood I found on the trail walking my dog. Its some kind of cherry, but not sure what kind really.

The finish is just some coconut oil warmed up and rubbed into the spoon. I wish I had some walnut oil or something different to try, but this was a first attempt at spoon carving, and I'm pretty happy with it. The handle could have used a lot more work, but it feels nice in the hand.

Thanks for looking!

"Nobody owns you, Nobody owes you" --unk.

Sort:  

My husband made a few spoons. It's harder than one might imagine. I plan on taking a crack at it this year, as well. Great post @cavemanrob!

Its a lot of time and patience. Like moving meditation. I really enjoyed it.

That is great for a first go. Be warned carving can get addictive.

I'm already hooked. I'd like to do better on the finishing next time, and I think next time might be very soon.

Good that is the attitude to have.