Mini copper and aluminium foundry

in #casting7 years ago

IMG_0442.JPG

So, after a couple of previous attempts, and a slightly larger foundry - a 12 litre steel bucket instead of the 10 litre one I had before, with a better placed air intake, I have great success melting aluminium cans quickly and I even got it hot enough to melt some copper tube.

IMG_0429.JPG

The larger bucket means a larger cavity can be formed inside, which allows more charcoal to fit around the crucible with the lid down. The result being a very hot fire concentrated around the crucible, which melts the cans almost instantly with a hiss and a flash of flame. The melting point of aluminium is 660.3 C, and it was clearly well above that.

IMG_0427.JPG

The melting point of copper is 1085 C, and this wasn't as easy to achieve. I could get the copper to start to glow and become soft, but it wasn't quite melting so I loaded as much charcoal as possible in, turn up the hair dryer fan to high and this did the job, the copper tube melted into the crucible.

IMG_0433.JPG

The copper was glowing in the muffin pan after pouring it in, but quickly cooled to a black colour.

IMG_0436.JPG

The cavitities and imperfections in the copper you can see in the the first photo were from a lot of little coals which had been blown into the crucible with the blower turn up high, but resulted in a really interesting effect.

IMG_0435.JPG

The crucible I was using is made from graphite which stands up to the heat I can generate.

IMG_0443.JPG

The top of the copper dried black, maybe due to oxidation as it is exposed to the air.

IMG_0444.JPG

Two new "muffins" complete.

IMG_0441.JPG

Overall I am very happy with the newly constructed mini foundry, see my earlier post about this for the original instructions. Once I have accumulated enough material I will start experimenting with green sand casting. It is amazing what you can do in your back yard with a little help from YouTube!

Sort:  

followed and upvoted you,if you want to know about steemit tricks,please follow me...!!!

very cool ive wanted to make one of these for a while i saw it on youtube, ive been experimenting with pouring silver small scale, please check out my last post if you have time :)