Caterday 01/27/18 ... Meet Sir Duncan!

in #caterday6 years ago (edited)

Sir Duncan came to us as “Pumpkin”, an oversized ball of fur as lazy as they come. My daughter had been asking for a kitten for some time and I held off to surprise her at Christmas. We have had plenty of cats throughout my life and I knew it was time for our next one. But I also knew I did not want a kitten. Not just because I didn’t want the training and mischief they get into, I felt that there were so many older cats that don’t get the chance to be taken into good homes. Most people adopt the adorable little kittens.

Anyways, we brought Pumpkin home Christmas Eve morning and he was terrified. You could see it in his huge round eyes. We gathered in the living room and said the kids could open one present. We brought the carrier out, popped open the door and nothing. He wouldn’t come out. My daughter was so excited until she looked in... it was definitely not a little kitten. We finally pried him out and he bolted underneath our glider rocking chair where we decided to leave him and let him be. Hours later we checked on him and realized he had wedged himself in real tight. We were afraid he couldn’t get out. After another hour my husband had to get his tools out to remove a bar so he could be freed. He then bolted to the basement and under my daughters bed where he stayed until Christmas morning. Let’s say it wasn’t the surprising outcome I had planned.

Fast forward to today, Duncan as we now call him (or big dunky), is the most loving ball of a catto we could have ever asked for. He loves to be held, always purring, playful, gets along with all other animals and LOVES his food! He has been the easiest cat I have ever loved by far ❤️

Sort:  

very interesting story! hee hee, it happens: everything does not always happen as we would like. cat very funny :) I really liked his photo outside the window and with the dog near the fireplace. it's great!!!!

Thank you! He certainly is a “special” cat!! ☺️

Jaguars are the only big cats that don't roar.

Duncan's a big cat but he doesn't roar?

Oh I beg to differ!!! I’ve heard him roar quite a few times when it comes to food!!!! 😂

The term “puss” is the root of the principal word for “cat” in the Romanian term pisica and the root of secondary words in Lithuanian (puz) and Low German puus. Some scholars suggest that “puss” could be imitative of the hissing sound used to get a cat’s attention. As a slang word for the female pudenda, it could be associated with the connotation of a cat being soft, warm, and fuzzy.

A cats field of vision is about 185 degrees.