How I Failed to Make My Cat Internet Famous

in #cats7 years ago (edited)

It was the year 2015 and my primary job was facing a huge cutback in hours. So I began to search for alternate ways to make money for my family. I worked in media/design at the time, and I still wanted to work from home, so I tried to find a way to make my cat internet famous.

Now this was a failed attempt so I'll digress to mention that I'm still not attempting to do this. But I wanted to share some of my failures here on my Steemit blog.

It all started with a cute picture of my cat, Tanner (whose nickname is Hoppy Cat):

Image of Tanner

Which I took back in Johnson City, TN (where she was rescued). I uploaded the picture to Imgur:

Original Imgur Post

Where the picture made it to the 1st page of Imgur for the day.

I don't know if I was expecting to get a call from Grumpy Cat's agent or what I was expecting, but nothing happened.

That was when I realized that there was already a famous cat that stands up named George the Cat; and actually, cats who stand up aren't that uncommon.

So I was on the verge of a marketing crisis. I had people to the left of me saying my cat doesn't really hop, and therefore her nickname of Hoppy Cat was kind of dumb. I had people to the right of me saying that their "great aunt's sister's cat does the same thing - it's cute, but nothing too special."

Around the same time I started a number of social networking pages for my cat.

I paid for advertisers to draw traffic to an Instagram account for "Hoppy Cat" which ultimately I stopped posting to back in 2015.

Twitter was a bust for our meager campaign.

On YouTube we had a slightly larger audience of 8 children. But after working so hard to see if the Internet would adopt "Hoppy" as one of its pet cats, it was actually our kitten Pwaffles that had the most views of all on the channel (at a paltry 58k views).

I did receive an offer from someone to license Pwaffle's "Kitten in a Shoe" YouTube video, which was around $500. But I declined the offer because the buyer wanted exclusive rights - and for no other individuals to have the rights to the video.

I couldn't even consider the offer by that point because the video was already on EllenTube and EllenTube's Facebook page - not to mention I'd already given permission for another company to add it to a compilation video.

Pwaffles

On Tumblr we were doing all right but struggled to come up with engaging content:

HoppyCat

We tried to market t-shirts based on a well-received photo set we created on Tumblr.

HoppyCat

But even that was a bust.

My mom bought 1 t-shirt and sent it to my niece. And since the t-shirt website had a selling threshold in order to cash out, we didn't even make a dollar off of that transaction.

So I decided to do the best thing for us at the time.

I spent time with my cat offline rather than sending her adrift on the Internet. Though every once and a while we receive new fans at her largely abandoned Facebook page (shout out to the Middle East, where most of her fans are from).

Meanwhile, I stopped working from home and I now work in pharmacy claims management.

But my cats are still super cute and loved. We even have a dog now, too (a rescue pup from Puerto Rico):

18595236_10154711311243691_3059939910311427110_o.jpg

The only Instagram Tanner / Hoppy Cat will be on any time soon is my weight loss Instagram account I made to try to push myself to become a healthier version of me. And she usually only makes it on there since she joins me in my treadmill walks.

HoppyCatTanner.png

She likes to sit on my treadmill desk while I am walking and I get a workout with my arms when I pet her.

I hope that you enjoyed this post. I figured one of the best ways to introduce myself would be with a story. So for what it's worth, once upon a time I failed at marketing my cat's Internet persona.

Maybe offline I will ask Hoppy Cat which alt coins I should invest in and let you know what happens. :)

Until next time, nice to meet you Steemit community!

Sort:  

Welcome to Steem @atrawi I have upvoted and sent you a tip

Why thank you, BottyMcBotFace! Love your username! :)

Welcome and Thank You for being with us!! Following your Blog now

welcome @Atrawi to Steemit !! . I hope you enjoy your time here, its a great community :) Nice post, i will follow your account, please follow me ...

Thank you for the nice welcome, Mekong! :)

Great post! Upvoted/following and if you like cats and dogs , check out my blog, I have a couple (and will post more) :)

Congratulations @atrawi! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You made your First Comment
Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Welcome to Steemit @atrawi, it is an incredible group of people on this platform! minnowsupport is an invaluable resource for newbie members. Follow me if you are interested in free banners you can use on blog posts!

Hey! Enjoy steemit!! Followed. Follow me back 😘

Congratulations @atrawi! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Just taking this opportunity to say "THANK YOU FOR FOLLOWING ME"

Congratulations @atrawi! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - Quarter Finals - Day 2


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @atrawi! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!