TIFO=Cats & Sweets

in #cats6 years ago

I found out recently that cats can't taste anything sweet. People are able to enjoy five or more different flavors, namely: sweet, salty, sour, umami (associated with meat) & bitter. I also like savory. Which might be a combination of salty & umami. Though some things I consider savory don't have meat. Today I found out that the sweet taste buds are made up of two proteins generated by two separate genes. Cats don't have these two genes. Making it so all cats, not just household ones, but, lions & tigers as well can't taste sweet things either.

Sort:  

Aww! The cat looks like it just read this sad news.😿

They have plenty of other things to enjoy. I think they'll be ok ;) I still like sweets, but, prefer savory & salty even more. My husband is the big sweet & chocoholic.