Kittens, Tortoises, Sunsets and more .. Daily life in Chonburi, Thailand

in #cats2 years ago

There's so much to fit in that I walk past or encounter on a daily basis. I thought it would be a good time to capture some of the essence of my current life living in Thailand. We'll start with the cats, of course. My current favorite ... they're almost ready to go home, as in previous posts I'm taking the white kitten and have named him (he's a he), Bat. Bat the Siamese cat. Batcat for short. Or should I say, he chose me as his human before opening his eyes. This was the cat standing up and kinda tried to meow at me when he was just 1 week old. I have waited the recommended time before handling, and now at 4 weeks they can begin to be socialized. Daily visits with food and toys are now on my schedule. Handy because it's also a good spot for lunch, as these are in reality street restaurant cats. Not stray or feral, and fairly tame. With Bat's half Siamese genes I believe it's also a good sign he's going to grow into a fine little animal.


2022_04_05_16_51_54_444.jpg


Ain't he a cutey?


2022_04_05_16_29_23_416.jpg


Right now, still very small. Waiting until he's learnt a little more than he's going to be around me the entire time, I'm getting a carrier for him.


IMG_6298.jpg


I gave them a new blanket, which they all piled onto and seemed to enjoy very much. They love to play with each other, which makes it tempting to bring his brother the tabby home with me also ... I wonder if I might end up doing exactly that.


IMG_6271.JPG


Mealtimes consist of real fish for mom cat and kitten formula baby cat food for the little guys. They can demolish a packet in a few minutes and sometimes need more. Soon they will need double, but also have kitten biscuits to supplement their diet now.

Neighbors surprise invitation

Some people with a shop across the road invited us for a look around their garden and had a quite interesting number of animals being kept bred or sold, I think, something of a back garden pet store! All under cover and all clean with lots of fresh food. Out the back, we saw the breeding pair of tortoises and they are huge!


IMG_6305.jpg


Not kittens, but lots of other cute furry critters and tortoises!


IMG_6310.jpg


Above, the big daddy. He was quite something, like a dinosaur. Be careful about your fingers! He can snap at something with surprise speed. I don't believe it would get on with a kitten.


IMG_6304.jpg


These were some kind of pedigree guinea pigs, also probably not the best companions for a cat. FYI - Luckily all these animals are on another property entirely, on the other side of the road, not close to the cats.


IMG_6306.jpg


These are the babies for sale, they cost about $100-200 I believe. Fascinating little dinosaur things to look at, with crazy spiny feet like something almost alien.


Sunset

There's one every day. And literally every day can bring a pretty spectacular sunset here. So when the end of the day comes, I like to sit back and watch the sunset go down with a cold drink, and will take a photo or two. By now I've got probably a few hundred of them in my archives! These are very recent ones taken in Bang Saray near Pattaya, Thailand.


IMG_2902.jpg

IMG_6086.jpg

IMG_2966.jpg

IMG_5248.jpg

IMG_4011.jpg

IMG_5850.jpg

IMG_3292-EFFECTS.jpg


I have many more of these, and I don't mind them being shared forever. Original files on request.


This was another exclusive to HIVE.blog edition of @newtonclassics , where the website is mostly now having a focus mostly around cars, travel, and adventures.


Sort:  

Batcat is such a cutie!

Annabelle 😊

Congratulations @newtonclassics! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 2500 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 2750 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from April day 6
NFT for Peace - Feedback and new city
Our Hive Power Delegations to the March PUM Winners
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!