Speak of the devil

in #cats6 years ago

For #caturday, I did a series on cats and abscesses and was quite happy not to have dealt with one in a little while. On Monday, I noticed this at feeding time

20180731_191549.jpg

Someone has a fat cheek, someone else gave him a slap, which he probably deserved. Because he is a grumpy soul, I was not about to take him to the vet who would have to sedate him just to look at him. I got scratched for having the gall to point a camera at him and start clicking away.

Today, I see that he has scratched it open and something is oozing out.

20180731_191252.jpg

I live in hope that it stays open long enough to drain because cleaning it is out of the question. But I will have to try and clean it tomorrow as we have just had a power cut. Sigh..... I am very grateful for phone batteries.

Sort:  

Sorry for this angry boy!
If he could lick his wound, it would be better.
But he can not ...
I wish a speedy recovery !!!!!

Thank you although I am not optimistic that it will go away immediately, I have had them reappear on the face too many times because it is hard to clean and they scratch it before it is ready

Sorry for the animals and we worry about them.
I wish your a quick recovery cat!

Cats, especially grumpy ones can be so hard to administer aid to. I hope the abscess drains and won’t turn into a big problem. 🐓🐓

So far, so good

And I thought I have problems with my cat Scary Mary.
IMG_2831.JPG

Is she also a grumpy character?

No she loves me dearly but turns on a dime when a cat comes near her. She is very playful with me and has a great appetite. She is very confident, will stay in the same room with a bunch of the cats. Will watch how they socialize with me and each other but wants no part of them.

Some are like that. He gets on ok with other cats most of the time but will only be touched if it suits him

Poor thing! :/ I hope he gets better!

Thanks, he will, he is better today but time will tell whether it is gone or will swell up again and need further cleaning.

ok! :)..btw, how many cats do you have?

5 ;) I am Catlady after all

Wow! Nice! You should post a photo with all of them in the same picture! :)

You know the expression "herding cats"? I may be able to do that if I put their food bowls all together in a line, lol

Yeah I know, it's very difficult. But you should try! :D

He must be twice as grumpy now. vets seem to make more than doctors unfortunately. Hope he gets well soon

My vet has been very good to me. She always tries to help me treat my animals from home

Ouch! That's a very unfortunate place to have a wound... hope it drains and dries naturally.

=^..^=

It's flat today but I will know how it is in about a week

Poor thing, that looks very swollen and sore. I can't believe he scratched you just for taking a picture. Cheeky boy!

He is a very bad-tempered boy

In general, this cat looks good. Maybe he fought with other animals.

He was definitely fighting.

Now your cat health is good

Hope, he will be ok in the next morning, otherwise you need to take him to a veterinary surgeon @nikv

So far, so good

Congratulations @nikv! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published
You published a post every day of the week

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!