Nine cat lives (part 2) the Peeër

in #cats6 years ago (edited)

1974poerktouw.jpg

When I was 10 years old, I had convinced my parents that Poerk needed a friend.
Jonas came.

I have forgotten how we got him. He was young, but not a kitten anymore. It was no lap cat and I especially remember that I found him so light. His weight was nothing compared to my massive Poerk.
I was a bit disappointed with this cat, because he never wanted to be hugged and always jumped away, like a wet soap.
And he peed.
He peed if his life depended on it. He drenched the whole house in pee.

Apparently, my parents must have tolerated this for a while, because after we moved house again, my father (according to the latest fashion in home furnishings) glued dark brown corks boards on the walls.
Then after months, when the penetrating and somewhat acidic smell of the cork finally withdrew from the house ... the smell of cat pee gradually started to take over again. That cork had a fantastic absorbency.
Jonas had to leave.

An acquaintance of my parents lived alone on a houseboat and was willing to adopt Jonas. He did not mind cat pee, he said. A rather strange man who was called 'Big Erik', but sometimes such acquaintances are quite convenient, isn't it?
A few years later, when I started to bring my pocket money to the pubs of Alkmaar, I discovered that Big Erik was the bouncer at the local discotheque. That felt safe, because I was only 15. I counted on that he would guard me. Because after all, I had given him a free, virtually unused cat!

Nine cat lives (part 1) the Gentleman

Sort:  

cute kid, sort of looks like you :) haha...upped

I love this

I just checked this post and I saw there was a part missing. Did you read that last part (or am I starting to get crazy?)

That last part wasn't there the first time i read it

You look like a butterfly when you crouch!

Btw, my friend runs the #dailypetphotography if you're interested

Those days my yoga skills were much better, whahaha.
Ohhh thanks for the link. I will do that.

You have been selected to receive 100% upvote and resteem courtesy of @vladivostok on behalf of @alphaprime as part of our continued quality content selection process. Steem on!

You got a 66.67% Prime Upvote from @alphaprime courtesy of @red-white-blue!

All Upvoted posts are considered for additional Upvotes and Resteem based on quality content criteria chosen by our moderators in an effort to give something back to the community.

If you have any queries, want to send a feedback or interested in delegating SteemPower to us please join our discord channel.

Statistics indicate that animal lovers in recent years have shown a preference for cats over dogs!

The Maine Coone is the only native American long haired breed.

You got a 50.00% upvote from @bearwards courtesy of @red-white-blue!

Release the Kraken! You got a 1.69% upvote from @seakraken courtesy of @red-white-blue!

A cat’s back is extremely flexible because it has up to 53 loosely fitting vertebrae. Humans only have 34.

Cats have the largest eyes of any mammal.

Kittens who are taken along on short, trouble-free car trips to town tend to make good passengers when they get older. They get used to the sounds and motions of traveling and make less connection between the car and the visits to the vet.

If a cat is frightened, the hair stands up fairly evenly all over the body; when the cat is threatened or is ready to attack, the hair stands up only in a narrow band along the spine and tail.

Cats with long, lean bodies are more likely to be outgoing, and more protective and vocal than those with a stocky build.

In Siam, the cat was so revered that one rode in a chariot at the head of a parade celebrating the new king.

very good post, thank you for telling me about you cat~
if you are interesting in cat, welcome to join the pet-post this week! The topic is cat food~

Most cats give birth to a litter of between one and nine kittens. The largest known litter ever produced was 19 kittens, of which 15 survived.