I am a new cat owner.

in #caturday4 years ago

Yes! And it's my first time to adopt a #kitten.
A friend already had an adult cat and it didn't like the presence of the kitten, so my friend gave me the kitten.

I worried so much deciding if I was going to accept it. At first I was excited because I really wanted to take care of an #animal. I do love them.

My first pet was a #hamster and too bad I had to leave the #Philippines to come back here to the #UAE.

Now, I have adopted a kitten - an Arabian Mau - and my fiance named him 'Boogie'.

WhatsApp Image 20200522 at 12.34.33 PM.jpeg

He is so clingy, too sweet and very playful. Many owners from #Youtube say that's very normal for kittens.

Boogie is just 3 months old and has been with me for just about a month. Believe me, I feel like giving up. I didn't know it was going to be this hard. Plus, after watching a lot of videos online, blogs, tips and advice; I was surprised that behavior of dogs and cats were very different.

Like this for example. I'm sure puppies wouldn't do this...

WhatsApp Image 20200522 at 12.32.06 PM.jpeg

I don't allow him to be on my laptop. But whenever he's with my mom, he gets that chance to sit on her laptop.

It's too hard to train these young hunters. And that routine?!!! I'm so not a routine person at home. Then all of a sudden I have to keep up with Boogie's demands. Breakfast, play/hunt, Lunch, play/hunt, nap time, play/hunt, nap time, play/hunt, Dinner, Grooming, Cuddle time, Sleep.

That is so crazy!!! All my extra time is now Boogie time. Don't get me wrong. I do enjoy it when I'm with him. It's more purposeful (hmmm...not sure if that was the right term to describe how I felt). But yeah, I do find those times with Boogie, precious times. Maybe because I learn from it.

Having Boogie, makes me feel more confident to be a mother when I get married and then have children.
Also, I'm getting a preview of how my mother is going to be when I have kids.
So, this is truly beneficial. I need to get prepared, otherwise, she's going to call the shots. Like what she's doing now.

Ever since Boogie came into our lives, we've been taking turns in watching out for him. But my mother is being unfair. She tells me not to allow Boogie to go onto my bed, yet she allows him to go on to hers. She screams when she sees Boogie kissing me, and tells me not to allow him. But she tries to get kisses from Boogie. Sound familiar? #Narcissist
That's not all she does. But enough about her.

Anyway, even though all that is happening, I still believe that Boogie is able to take away the stress in me and he entertains my 72 years old mother in these #covid19 times.

Though it is truly difficult, we have fallen in love with this kitten and I hope I will make it with him - through good times and the bad, since he is really my responsibility now.

WhatsApp Image 20200520 at 10.00.42 PM.jpeg

For all you #cat #lovers out there, please please share me some insights, tips and advices on how to be a better cat owner.

Right now, my challenge really is his claws, and biting. I'm so terrified of them. When he's playing, all of that comes out to play too.

I love it when he's sleeping. Hehheehehe!!!

Wish he'd just sleep all the time.

WhatsApp Image 20200520 at 10.01.12 PM.jpeg

Until here my friends. Hope to hear from you Cat Lovers.

See you around!

hive gif ko.gif

Sort:  

@tipu curate

Upvoted 👌 (Mana: 24/30)

hi @foreveraverage thank you for visiting my post.

love lots,
@erelasblog

Congratulations @erelasblog! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 3750 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 4000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Hahahaha boogiieee youre so cute.
But it sounded dark when you said you wish he’d sleep forever. kidding.❤️

i know right?! it didn't sound right. hahaha! he's so behave kase when he's sleeping. it's like i've done a good job because he can sleep well. hahahah!!!
and when he sleeps, oh my gosh, i feel like going crazy when people here start moving around making noises. i feel like putting up a sign on my door 'shhhhh! kitten sleeping'. AHAHAHAHHAHAHA!!! then put up a time when he's going to wake up. sounds familiar? bwhahahahahaha!!!!

Congratulations on adopting your new kitty, Boogie is so sweet. 🧡

If you're looking for useful cat keeping info or some cool products check us out 😻 @aipaws