Happy New Year Felines! It's Caturday! 😻😻😻

in #caturday β€’ 4 years ago (edited)

Well we made it to 2020 felines! Congrats and Happy New Year!

Sir Obie1Kanobie has been super hungry lately! I just fed him and he's begging for more! I think it's time to make up his little food toper to keep those pestie fleas away!
20200104_154007.jpg
@kimmysomelove42

I suppose it is winter and he feels a bit board staying inside most days when really cold out.

Ever since I made his new kitty cupboard he seems to bunker up in it and enjoys the warmer rains and won't even come in. We have had several days of beautiful sunny days, now bracing for 10 days or so of rain, which the Earth needs.

Recipe for detouring fleas:

Chop up 1/8 cup raw unsalted pumpkin seeds and 1 small garlic clove, (not bulb) super duper fine. Put in small container and store in fridge.

Make sure to let it sit in air for at least 10 minutes, helps the acid in garlic to mellow out for stomach lining when exposed to air.

I sprinkle just a little bit in wet food. You must mix it well or your feline buddie will smell it and get cattitude real fast and not eat their food. This is enough for about 3 feedings. I spread it out 2 or 3 times a month. If you can't find any fleas don't give it to them.

Vet's will warn you against garlic for cats, however, I learned decades ago from Native Americans this is what they use for fleas and parasites on animals and it works!

I rarely ever find a flea on him, I also add 1 or 2 drops of Apple Cider Vinegar to his drinking water. That is a great way for him to get some gut health and also known to detour fleas.

My Vet is always impressed at how healthy and happy he is and his amazing fur coat, probably from all the nutritional yeast I add as well to his food.

Please make sure to be safe when feeding them either garlic and acv. Check with your vet to make sure your kitty can handle either.

Okay Fellow Felines Happy Caturday!! 😻😻😻

Blanco-Conx.png

Lend your voice to this amazing inspiring group of humans!
video-1550178853.gif
Instagram Page: https://www.instagram.com/kimmysomelove42/
YouTube Channel: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCygEZQvRTSYqjZW9RgKbCOw?view_as=subscriber
Find more Steemians?
https://old.steemfollower.com/?r=16189
https://steemengine.net/join?r=3935

Or better yet, get paid to search the web, this site is fast and amazing!

presearch

33y6lnp.jpg

Sort: Β 

Fleas, etc, aren't much of an issue at my altitude (5100 feet), but it's good stuff to know. I love reading about your kitty - and should visit your blog more often anyway!

I found your post because @tryskele featured you in the Pay it Forward Curation contest. Keep up the great work!

Β 4 years agoΒ (edited)Β 

I love it cattiude!! I know my old man would be very vocal if it bothered him. Thankfully, we don't have an issue with fleas despite a sandy soil base in our backyard. I like to think it's because of my use of tea-tree oil.

Still great advise. When it comes to our familiars, furry family members or how ever you prefer address them we just need to exercise common sense. If the garlic is in HIGH quantities yes it will harm them but the quantities you're mentioning are not going to harm them. Just like chocolate for dogs. Not good to give them small amounts aren't going to hurt them. My heeler has an affinity for chocolate. I have to make sure it is out of her reach.

To let you know I featured you for this week's @pifc curation contest --> Here

Wonderful, no doubt Chocolate is the number one antioxidant food on the planet, of course dogs want some in small dose of course! I have read that some breads of dogs will be highly allergic to it, just like people I suppose. But boy that would really be a bummer if I couldn't eat chocolate!!!

Happy Caturday!

I wonder if the same would work with dogs. I might need to try this with both the cats and dog.

Yes, you can. a little acv behind their ears on cotton swab, and a light brushing of baking soda on their coat will keep ticks away too... do your own research though please..

Happy 😻 Caturday!
That is a really Beautiful kitten and Great writing with great info,didn't know this about garlic and cats. Have a wonderful weekend. Cheers!

Hi @kimmysomelove42,

Thanks so much for partaking in #dailypetphotography! Please follow @dpet for upcoming events.
Our discord channel is up and running, come on over and say hi, lots of avil pet owners are awaiting you there.
https://discord.gg/GYrnsNm

Β 4 years agoΒ (edited)Β 

Beautiful cat. You captured a perfect cat expression in your photo. And, every cat I ever owned would give you that look as soon as they could see the bottom of their dish – no matter how much food they'd already eaten, nor how much remained in the dish. LOL

Every vet we ever had told us to never feed cats and dogs garlic or active yeast. They also tell us not to feed dogs or cats anything with seeds or bits of nut in it because they cannot properly digest them. You're also not supposed to feed them chocolate.

No doubt aren't they so silly! yeah, well I lived on intentional community and we fed the dogs garlic, tobacco all kinds of foods you are not suppose to give them, and I kid you not, those 5 dogs lived to be 28, 19 33, 31, and 27 years old.. I think the key for those dogs, is that the owner since young put a tbls of vegetable oil, not corn, like sunflower or olive on their food and their joints didn't give out or get tumors, I'm convinced because of it. I have since never met any dogs that have lived that long. ;)