Happy Caturday - Meet The Cat Family

in #caturday4 years ago

Hello Hive friends! Today I want to introduce you to the cat family I have living in my backyard most of the time. For the purpose of this post I am going to name the mom cat Bella, she has been around for three years I believe and maybe it's time to finally give her a proper name. There are also three more adult cats, one female and two males that used to hang around here a lot more but lately I only see the female one that I suspect is going to have babies as well. In this post I am going to share some photos of Bella and her babies so let's start...


Back when Bella was pregnant

This was also the time when she allowed me to pet her for the first time. We have cats around for probably 10 years or so and there were only a few of them who were not afraid of human interaction. So I was very happy when Bella and me became friends. :)

IMG_20200415_151106.jpg


Meet the kittens

I knew right away that she is going to give birth at a hidden place at our neighbors backyard as they have a lot more places where she can hide and nobody would know where the kittens are until they are old enough to come out. So one day I just saw her without the pregnancy belly and I knew I had to be patient and that soon I'll just see kittens running around the backyard. My neighbor actually saw them first and told me there are five. I have no idea what happened to one of them as I never saw the fifth kitten, just these four...

IMG_20200703_102831.jpg
Here we have three of them sleeping...

IMG_20200703_102847.jpg
Fourth kitten...

IMG_20200703_102910.jpg
Close up of the siblings as I thought it was adorable how they look like they are hugging while sleeping


More photos

IMG_20200705_165419.jpg
One of the white kittens has beautiful blue eyes! I always have to zoom in my camera as they would run away if I start getting close to them but I hope they will get used to me so I can take better pictures of these cuties.

IMG_20200707_141226.jpg
My niece asked for cat food because she wanted to feed them which honestly I thought it would last for few days only but she is staying on top of it every day. She was never that interested in cats before but I am glad she is willing to do this for them.

IMG_20200707_152801.jpg
Cleaning up after a meal

Hunting time

One day while I was going for a garden walk, I saw Bella and the kittens playing around at our neighbor's garden. They are very playful kittens, especially the grey-white one and then Bella started meowing. It was very strange, not her usual sound of meowing that is more high pitch (if that makes sense at all, haha), this one sounded different. Then she started walking and meowing, came to our path and looked back at the kittens. Then all four of them started following her and she kept looking back until they were all gone in the grass and clover field at our neighbors where adult cats usually go hunting. I was so happy to witness this moment of cat mom teaching her kittens where and how to get food. I saw her a few times with a mouse in her mouth, bringing it to the kittens. Once I saw the most playful kitten playing around with a mouse but at that moment I didn't have my phone with me to capture it.

IMG_20200712_125939.jpg
Playtime

IMG_20200712_130210.jpg
"Come on kids, let's go hunting!"

IMG_20200712_130234.jpg
"Here I come!"

IMG_20200712_130240.jpg
"Wait for me!" (can you spot a kitten on the right, jumping out behind the raspberry bushes?) :D


I hope you enjoyed this story about the cat family. I forgot to mention that the father comes for a visit sometimes, a big, all white, very intimidating looking guy who always runs away when he sees me. I will somehow try to take a photo of him and share it some of my future posts as I would like to share more of my furry friends' adventures.


banner.png

Sort:  

They are so cute! All of them!
And mommy always knows how to teach the little ones the important things. Looks like she is a very good mom-cat.

I am really impressed by how she takes care of her babies, she is the best cat mom I have seen. :D

What a lovely, natural environment for a happy cat family. Really liking that your niece is helping to keep them fed! Getting mom and the babies desexed might be a good idea soon, though. They're just so CUTE!

Enjoy them - they will learn to know you over time and are such lovely company.

Thank you so much! I really hope I'll make friends with kittens soon, they are just so adorable. :)

I could watch cats all day! Nice story and photos!

@tipu curate

Thanks! I love watching the little ones play especially when they are exploring and get a little bit clumsy. :)