Giving street kittens a chance

in #caturday6 years ago

katia.jpg

This is Katia on the day that I got her: extremely hungry but friendly, born in a vacant lot to a feral mother in a cat-hating neighbourhood. Somehow, she became tame by herself and someone I know took pity on her and asked me to take her as she was very likely to end up dead. She was around four months old at that time and she had a bad cough and inflamed gums.

With better food, she grew and filled out and became the darling of the place I lived at: she visited all the people who lived there and played with them. The cough persisted though and I put off spaying her until she was about 7 months old.

This is her just before spay day, still tiny at 7 months but full of fun, bouncing on Yoda's head

KatiaAndYoda.jpg

When spayed, we did X-rays and the vet recommended putting her on antibiotics for a month. She was a fairly good patient and allowed me to give her a pill every day for 30 days and to our relief, her cough cleared up and so did her inflamed gums.

3 years later

Katia2.jpg

She's still a little cat, a very active tree-climber who remains playful and naughty and loves her food so she is a little bit fat. Her personality is such that someone who doesn't even like cats took pity on her as a kitten and gave her to me. Many people who didn't like cats told me that after meeting her, they would also consider getting a cat. I warned them that not all cats are alike and she's unique.

Sort:  

What beauties !!!
The expression of the eyes is different everywhere!
On the last photo, Katia asks: "Did you get permission from me for a photo?" hahaha

She is very much like that!

What a special girl! Once again its lucky that you found eachother. We used to have a cat that looked like her, named Daisy, she was gorgeous as well.

I think that Tuxies are just born cute

That 3 years later shot is a good one!! 😊

Thank you. Good to see you back!

loves her food so she is a little bit fat

hehehe, more of her to love

Exactly

First I would like to inform you about osteoporosis! Just kidding.
She is a pretty cat and it is obvious she is a sweetie. I’m so glad she got better after the antibiotics. Pretty too. Funny picture of her sitting on top of the Yoda box.

So a kind story just like I love it!! What a happiness you share with me! Thank you. Happy she meet you, a really great mommy. As I often say (about dogs I trained) : if there is a god boy, there is a good human beside to!

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you

The life of a feral cat is extremely hazardous and sadly many die young. I am so glad you took her in. I also love the expression on Yoda's face. "Save me from this young one, mom"

Feral cats have terrible lives in a city environment

The photo with Yoda - priceless :D
She is adorable with those white socks.

She's all-round adorable. Although she is pretty damn naughty as well. But she knows that she is cute so she will get away with her antics

People who help and love street animals have a special place on heaven! What a gesture.. I've done it myself, i rescued a dog, his name is Pericles, he's such a cuttie!

Do you still have him?

Sorry didn't check this. Well I had to leave Mérida but he stayed with my sister! His name Is Pericles, I'm gonna look for photos.

WARNING! The comment below by @shovon51 leads to a known phishing site that could steal your account.
Do not open links from users you do not trust. Do not provide your private keys to any third party websites.

WARNING - The message you received from @shovon51 is a CONFIRMED SCAM!
DO NOT FOLLOW any instruction and DO NOT CLICK on any link in the comment!

For more information about this scam, read this post:
https://steemit.com/steemit/@arcange/anti-phishing-war-the-crooks-continue-their-bashing-campaign

If you find my work to protect you and the community valuable, please consider to upvote this warning or to vote for my witness.

What an ambassador. Most people who don't Iike cats just haven't met the right one. Different with dogs though lol