Peanut chronicles: growing and thriving

in #caturday4 years ago

nuts.jpg
Posing by the compost heap, he's an active and playful little dude who also loves cuddles

Peanut is approximately six months old and growing well, it looks like he's going to become a large cat. Like all teenage boys, he loves eating and unfortunately still gobbles his food and throws up regularly.

Feeding him in an ice-cube tray didn't last long, he quickly learned to tip it over and went back to vomiting soon after eating. He graduated to a 30-egg cardboard tray, which worked well for quite a while although he was rubbing his nose raw on the edges of the egg cups from time to time. The bald spot is still visible.

nose.jpg

He recently started throwing up again so I went looking for new solutions. Looking online at interactive feeders, they seem interesting but are pricey and look like the kind of thing that will break easily.

I found a slow feeder at the pet supply shop over the road from where I work, expensive but much cheaper than anything else I've seen so I thought I'd give it a try.

bowl.jpg

He has to work for his food by extracting it with his paws and he seems to enjoy doing it. His eating time is significantly slower. Hopefully this will be the last thing he needs, I like the sturdy, durable construction, He won't be able to tip this over.

eating.jpg

He's now old enough to be neutered and the lockdown regulations have been relaxed enough that I can take him in whenever I get the chance and I'll do it next month. His hernia will still need repairing but his missing testicle finally showed up which means that his surgery will be less complicated. I'm grateful.

He's still happily hunting and eating locusts, birds and the other cats leftovers of the rats they catch, he hasn't caught his own yet although I expect he'll do it soon. The other cats mostly find him annoying although Katia and Yoda play with him so he is slowly fitting in.

Sort:  

Peanut is precious, we hope you've found a solution that works too.

Interactive feeders are great, we like to split our servings into multiple meals throughout the day but it's not viable for everyone.

We hope to see more of Peanut and his exciting growth.🧡

I actually feed them small meals four times a day, I am a big believer in multiple sevrvings but he's such a gobbler he was still throwing up after meals

2 times a day here, a wet portion, then a dry kibble. and of course treats from time to time in between.

Your little monster is so adorable. Slow feeder tray is brilliant. My cat Dexter is a fast eater and would throw up too. Same with deaf Gerry.. They have mostly grown out of it now...

Thanks, he is a little treasure. I'm glad to hear there's a possibility that he might outgrow the gobbling habit.

Well this kitten has already grown. I hope that it will be a good defense of your home from all kinds of rodents and locusts.

And birds...

Hahaha. He looks so funny in the photo! He’s quite smart, he could tip the food tray over! That green feeder is a lot of fun! Hope he will stop throwing up from now on!

Yes, he was trying to play with one of the other cats, stalking him. I also hope that this is the last of the throwing up

Oh! That second photo almost scared me!
Peanut is looking great :)

:) He's a lovely little ball of fun

Oh I think I've seen a cute kitty. It IS a really cute cat. He eats the same number of times as my 2-year-old baby. What a cute pet I congratulate you.

Thank you, enjoy your kitty

Such Great News.! I been thinking about him from time to time.

Thanks :) How's your boy doing?

We think He has backed off a bit on his constant attacks.

He goes with me on the road full time now. So much less time for him to torment the others. Deck Post Multishots 5 20200505.jpg

Deck Post Multishots 12 20200505.jpg

Deck Post Multishots 10 20200505.jpg

We just received a 6 month old puppy from the SPCA, but it is just amazing what everything costs just to get him settled!!
Looks like a beautiful cat!!

Yes it is: all the vaccinations, sterilization is not cheap

A handsome boy!
I hope that there is a solution to his problem.
Could it be from worms (if he has them)?

No, he has been dewormed a few times and is in good condition. It seems purely a bad habit. When forced to eat slowly, he doesn't throw up

Probably he had hungry days before you took it ...
And because of this, he tries to eat everything quickly.

Maybe, but it seems he likes to have eating competitions with the others

This is so that other cats do not eat more than him :-)))

No more news about Peanut?!

Hope you are very well!

Has the lockdown been lifted!

Take care.

Yes, lockdown is partially lifted. He will go for surgery on Thursday.

You take care too

So good to hear about positive changes!
Good luck with the surgery for Peanut!

Stay safe and strong!

Aww what a cutie, reminds me of the Siamese I had when I was a kid.

He seems a proper little meezer