You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Cats and 'cauliflower ear'

in #caturday6 years ago

Poor Tommy! I've never seen a cat have this before, so it may be a little different with cats, but one of my dogs, Marley, has had it a few times. In his case, the vet said to leave him alone and it will slowly disappear, which is exactly what happened. It looks so uncomfortable for the poor things, my vet said that if you drain it, then it just fills up again, and sometimes surgery can be problematic, but like I said, it might be different with cats. I hope he gets better soon.

Sort:  

Did the bottom of Marley's ear fill up? I'm thinking that its less problematic for dogs due to gravity and in cats, the opening to the ear canal may end up being blocked. I'll hear more this week

No, it was the whole top part of the ear, like a balloon. I'm pretty sure he wouldn't have been able to hear with that ear when it was like that, because the whole thing was so swollen. But I think you might be right, dogs and cats are very different so definitely take your vets advice. Hope he gets better soon.