"Pretty" actresses and models that I didn't think were attractive over the years

in #celebrities9 months ago

There hasn't been much to report about Thailand as I've kind of just been taking it easy the past month or so but I do want to talk about something that me and a friend were discussing at dinner the other night.

Throughout my lifetime there have been a number of celebrities, mostly actresses that were deemed to be beautiful by their industries and there have been a few standout moments that I just didn't understand where this was coming from. Maybe it is just me but I never really understood why it was that some of these people were considered to be a gold standard of beauty.

Everyone thinks differently so I'm not saying that I have the final word on this, but there are some actresses that when they were presented as beautiful my mind was thinking that I completely disagree. This isn't to say they are ugly, I just didn't think they were pinup lovely or anything.

Uma Thurman


image.png
src

While she is a good actress and I have enjoyed her films she isn't what I would consider stunning at all. I think Quentin Tarantino had a thing for her and this is why she is featured so prominently in his movies. For me, she was just kind of average and I don't think I would even turn back to look if I saw her in public. Well, aside from her being super famous.

Gina Davis


image.png
src

We don't see much of her anymore but she was featured in the 90's as being some sort of sex symbol. I don't want to be mean but to me she has a rather disturbing look about her.

Meryl Streep


image.png
src

You have to go back a ways in time to hear anyone calling her beautiful but it seems as though she was considered to be one of the best looking celebrity women in her time. I disagree. Once again no offense intended to her or anyone but I just don't see it.

Michelle Rodriguez


image.png
src

I was recently kind of forced to watch Dungeons and Dragons - which I thought was terrible by the way - and I hadn't really thought of Rodriquez in a while but I do remember how she was paraded around as the relatable kind of sexy tom-boy when the Fast and Furious movies first started out. To me, she is quite basic looking and I'm more of a Penelope Cruz type of guy when it comes to Latinas. Hopefully it isn't too un-PC for me to say that but once again, I mean no offense, this is just my opinion.

Sarah Jessica Parker


image.png
src

This one I will admit might be somewhat biased because of my loathing for Sex and the City, which was something I was kind of forced to watch by someone I was dating in college. I just don't think she is good looking. She's not ugly or anything but she just doesn't do it for me.


So those are the ones I can think of off the top of my head but I am sure there are some more. Do you have any that stick out in your mind? We all have different opinions about what is beautiful and I know this is true because a friend of mine from college had a thing for Amy Schumer, who I think is just gross. There is also the question of Jennifer Grey who I thought was so "funny looking" that I was a bit angry that they thought she could possibly the love interest of Patrick Swayze's character in Dirty Dancing :)

Got any picks? Want to be mean / honest like me?

Sort:  

Lol. I tend to agree with the list here as they are not exactly attractive and nothing special. I wouldn't offer them a second glance in the street if they walked past and that is a honest male review. When you think about it there are hundreds of actresses who are average and definitely not knockouts plus they have make up artists improving their looks. That is where the real magic happens.

Next i should come up with a list of "ugly" actors and actresses who are actually incredible at their jobs.