Cemeteryphotos- Because it's Monday

Abraham Lincoln was a lawyer and statesman in Springfield, Illinois before becoming the 16th President of the United States. His home and law office are National Historic sites, and the Presidential Library and Museum are there. I have visited there several times and will share more photos in the future.

image
The Lincoln Depot tells the story of Lincoln's trip from Springfield to Washington.

He was the President of the United States from March 1861 until his assassination in April 1865.

image

His tomb is in OakRidge Cemetery in Springfield, Illinois.

image

image

image

image

image

image

Inside the tomb...

image

There are also crypts containing the remains of Mrs. Lincoln and three of Lincoln's four sons, Edward, Willie, and Tad (the eldest son, Robert Todd Lincoln, is buried at Arlington National Cemetery in Washington DC).

image

image

Touching the nose of this bronze statue at the tomb is supposed to bring good luck.

image

“I can see how it might be possible for a man to look down upon the earth and be an atheist , but I cannot conceive how a man could look up into the heavens and say there is no God.”.
Abraham Lincoln

I've used the tag #cemeteryphotos and if you have some cemetery photos, use the tag and feel free to post your photos in the comments and I'll do my best to upvote them!

And here is the link to post so you can go check on all the Winners for the Shadow Photos for this week!

Round 4 Winners- Line Shadows

image

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Check The Daily spotlights of 11 February 2018! You missed one? ----> #dailyspotlights
Your quality post caught my attention and I hope you benefit from my resteem. My followers have a refined appreciation for quality art. You might also enjoy my curated collection. To see the quality posts I have curated via resteem, see my blog @pixresteemer. If you want to know more about me and my mission, please check my introduction.

This was an awesome write-up and photo shoot. I have never been to his grave and I have to admit, I am in awe of the sheer size an grandness of it all.

When I get close to there again, I will be sure to go there!

One thing I have to know. Did you touch the bronze nose? Tip!

That nose was simply too compelling. It begged to be touched! The cemetery is a must, but even more so is the museum. It is so well done. The neighborhood where their home was is like stepping back in time. Plan for a nice long visit...you won't be disappointed
Thanks for the tip. It is appreciated!

Hi @melinda010100! You have received 0.1 SBD tip + 0.01 SBD @tipU from @dswigle :)

@dswigle wrote lately about: Has Anyone Seen My Marbles?. Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Tipuvote! - upvote any post with with 2.5 x profit :)

beautiful cemetery and description. Eline health, introduce a special person.

a powerful revolutionary figure

Those are great photos.

perfect work .. photos are great and meaningful work!
congratulations my dear friend

Thank you so much!!

Another nice photography from you, in your photography i found something different touch like as Cemeteryphotos here.

wow! I felt it was a trip through time! great your pictures.

Boy O boy do we need another Lincoln right now. Love the first part of that quote.
“I can see how it might be possible for a man to look down upon the earth and be an atheist"
When we look around at what is going on? How can we believe in anything...especially politicians, of all parties?

I agree with you 100%. We are completely adrift.

Come the hour, come the man/woman. We live in hope.

He was a wise man. Thanks for stopping by!