YouTube roller-coaster - Feedback, Appeals and censorship Ep #01

in #censorship6 years ago

o-INTERNET-CENSORSHIP-facebook.jpg
Thank you everyone for taking the time to read this post. Today I thought I would highlight the constant uphill battle with YouTube censorship and the appeal process. It is something I have spoken about before in the past and the problem does persist. I thought I may as well take the time to docment the process as it moves along... As I do fear being removed from the platform is eventually going to happen no matter what.
erer111.jpg
Last week, a video which is about 12 months old (seen above) received an official legal complaint regarding my video (Possibly Hasbara, JIDF or another troll taskforce). I was very surprised by this, because in my opinion, the video in question was done so while being objective as possible. I thought to myself, surely to a reasonable person there is just no way my video could be taken as racist or inciting violence. Most of the sources used in the video are Jewish and a good portion of the video is me reading academic sources. Although appealing a decision by YouTube is practically pointless, I usually always try to give it a go anyway. I also mentioned the fact that my video was made citing Jewish sources and was done so for educational purposes. And to my shock and horror... something very rare and great had taken place...
11111erer.jpg
YouTube considered my review and revoked their decision - A decision which would of had my video marked as hate speech and banned from 33 countries - to penalize my video. Upon receiving this email, I was very happy to hear this... Finally a reasonable person from YouTube received my notification. While this was great news at the time, it was short lived as I received this about a day or so later...
1qq2qw3445.jpg
As you can see, from targeting flagging, censorship, demonetization and a never ending process of writing reviews, has made YouTube a very hopeless platform for people wanting to cover sensitive topics, like political corruption, historical revision and Palestinian genocide. On top of this, YouTube has also decided to update their algorithm in the last 3 years, which has prevented channels like mine from ranking organically and appearing in appropriate search results, as a result of this ive lost about 80% of the views per month that I use to receive. I believe it is through this social crediting system and political bias manipulation that YouTube, Google and companies alike have hidden content creators like myself into a small echo chamber corner. This is not only censorship, but its a way of promoting self censorship.