You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Freedom of Speech in the Jungle

in #censorship3 years ago

While I agree with most of the sentiment here, I do struggle with ideas such as deplatforming being akin to

inciting violence by backing a harmless dog into a corner because they don’t like its bark

Those who greatly support and value free speech often seem to then paradoxically downplay its power. I don’t believe that speech alone can’t be violence. Not all speech can be dismissed as “just talk” or “bark.” Speaking, promoting, organizing or recruiting for a violent agenda is an act of violence in itself.

I can’t get behind the idea that micro communities should be free of all outside scrutiny and judgements simply because they’re “just talking” and acting within the norms of their own community.

allow any and all speech so long as it falls within the accepted standards of the micro community it was posted in. The smallest micro community is the individual. This means an individual should be free to post anything they want to those who want to listen to them and that no one has to listen

This standard seems common sense, completely objective and appeals to the ideas of personal freedom & responsibility. But devoid of any subjective judgements, imposed morality, or law of the jungle; it basically states that to take part in this “civilized” platform I must set up shop next to the white supremacist militia openly planning their next attack, the jihadist forum walking teens through bomb building instructions, and a sexual predator club sharing tips on how to groom victims and avoid Chris Hansen; ...and simply live & let live because they’re “just talking” to a receptive audience in their own community and I’m free not to listen.

Don't let people gaslight barking dogs for inciting violence because they are backed into a corner by people with guns.

I like dogs more than I like most people. I can hardly imagine ever wanting to harm one. If I don’t like its bark I’ll gladly be on my way, or see if it’s an invitation to play or a plea for help. However... if I happen to realize (however unlikely!) that dog is barking in Morse code to all his dog buddies with instructions on how best to surround, attack & devour me... perhaps he wasn’t so harmless in the first place and I need to give serious thought to shutting him the hell up!

Sort:  

"There are no words that you can utter, which will make my limbs move .... in the absence of my own Will to move them".

To not take on the responsibility of the above saying, is to abdicate responsibility for your own actions.

Freedom of speech comes with being an adult.
And not abdicating responsibility of action.