Layoffs- Reality and my experience

in #centlast year

fantasy-3340944_1920.jpg

Pixabay

As a worker with almost 2-decades of experience in my field, layoffs have been part of the journey.

I chose this art because that's how layoffs feel. As a recession survivor, I got caught in 2-layoffs. Both of these layoffs were mass-layoffs, meaning more than 1,000 employees were laid off at once.

Layoffs are frightening. Losing your income for an indeterminate period of time is scary. Our primal fear of losing our shelter and food activates and then there's nothing I can say to assuage the fear. Maslow's Hierchy of Needs puts food and shelter as our basic needs, and if your income is gone then the base of the pyramid is too.

When I was laid off, I wasn't shocked. I resigned myself to be moving on, and held out some hope that it wouldn't come to my job. I was disappointed, and releaved in a way. It was done, and I would need to cope. It's a let down, and when I left I slept both times. I collapsed into bed and went to sleep. The next day was a hangover- what was I going to do? I fired up the computer and applied for unemployment while sending my resume out.

A layoff is a new opportunity. You can get a new job and you could find a better place of employment. I'm not a job hopper, so the prospect of meeting new bosses and co-workers isn't appealing to me. How is old @anarchy999 as a co-worker or employee? The best! You'd like working for and with me because I am positive, tough as shit and capable.

I wish you all the best, and as the recession reveals itself I wish none of you unemployment. It sucks, but if it does happen you will survive. Be positive, treat yourself right and keep your resume going. Contact HR and hiring managers and send your resume to recruiters.

The best,
@anarchy999

Sort:  

It's all part of life these things happen to many people, best we can do is keep moving forward.