Cooling the camera sensor down on my Canon 600d

in #cent7 months ago

20230930_112730.jpg

I am currently building a new rig for astrophotography using a astrophotography modified Canon 600d, these cameras can get very hot introducing unwanted noise into the image when exposing long images, so I have had a go at producing a version of the Martin Pyott peltier cooler to remove some of the heat for cleaner images.

20230930_103828.jpg

The peltier chips work almost like magic with one side getting cold and the other hot, the cold side has an aluminium sheet 5mm deep to make contact with the back of the camera then a 2mm bracket attaches to the aluminium the camera base, on the back of that is the peltier chip and then a giant heat sink to disperse the heat.

20230930_113624.jpg

The peltier is controlled by a temp box and probe and runs off a 12v 3amp power supply, the temp drops a good 20c in the 20 min I was running, every degree will make a huge difference.

The rest of the rig will be using

Canon 600d modified
Canon 200mm f2.8
Sv165 guides cope
Sv305 guide camera
2 x dew heater bands (not pictured)
Az gti mount eq (not pictured)

I will be running the rig remotely via an Intel stick PC which will control guiding and image acquisition, not the most powerful but it should be up the task if I am not live stacking images.
20230930_114655.jpg

The images I hope to aquire with this rig will be nebula like the veil nebula and the orion nebula and maybe one or two of the closer galaxies like andromeda and m33 triangulum.

picture-07c2927d0179b0ede96809a4a0695b38-original_jpg-1481x929.jpg

This is an image I captured of the orion nebula on my 400mm telescope, this has 2x the zoom of my current rig but is a lot slower to aquire data. It won't be as detailed but it will capture a wider image of the heavens.

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=LVrTpCn1MhA

This is the original video of Martin making the rig and he deserves some recognition.

Hopefully later this month I get some clear skies and be able to get first light and some amazing pictures.

My current photos are uploaded to telescopius

http://telescopius.com/profile/lancastrianastro

Sort:  

You into a lot of dope shit !!! That's really cool I hope this mod will help you push it to the next level , those coolers are pretty cool I was thinking of making cooling shoes with them

You received an upvote of 100% from Precious the Silver Mermaid!

Please remember to contribute great content to the #SilverGoldStackers tag to create another Precious Gem.