[Free Steem!] Mathematics × Programming Competition #1

in #chainbb-general7 years ago (edited)

Welcome to the


1st Mathematics × Programming Competition!


Question

Difficulty index: 4 / 10

Kenchung has 90 SBD and goes to a store to buy stationery. A pencil costs 9 SBD and a pen costs 10 SBD. How many different possible combinations are there for the stationery he purchased? (Buying nothing at all is not considered as a combination) (He does not have to use all the money)


Photo source: www.matthewdeevers.com


Answer submission

  • Please submit through this link.
  • You are not required to show your steps. You can use either a mathematical or programming approach.
  • This competition will last for 24 hours. After that no more submission would be accepted.

Rules

  • Participants who submit the answer as a comment below this post will be disqualified.
  • Each participant can only submit once. In case of duplicated submission, the latest answer will be considered.
  • You have to upvote this post AND the announcement post in order to be eligible for the competition.

Prizes

  • The final SBD payout of the previous post would be added to the prize pool. The prize pool contains 0 SBD at this moment.
  • The first participant who gave the correct answer will get 75% of the prize pool.
  • Other participants who got the correct answers will enter a lucky draw. Those who resteemed this post will have 400% higher chance to win! The 5 winners will share 25% of the prize pool.
  • If not all prizes are given out, they will be accumulated for the next competition!
  • @kenchung reserve all the rights to disqualify any suspected cheating players and decide the distribution of prize among the winner(s).

Upvote, resteem and follow me at @kenchung if you like my posts!

Sort:  

Does he have to use all 90 SBDs?

No. (clarified in the question, thanks for asking)

Just submitted. And upvoted.
Only have time to do it now so I probably is too late even if I got the answer correct. Anyway, I think I should still join this as I like your idea and what to show my support.
Keep this challenge going, I will join every time.

Thanks man :) nvm you can still have the chance to win the small prizes (5% of total SBD payout each) if someone has answered correctly before you

Looking forward to your participation in the upcoming challenges!

This post received a 13% upvote from @randowhale thanks to @kenchung! For more information, click here!

My answer was submited

great, thx for joining! I will announce the winners tmr

Submitted the answer.. Wish I'd seen the post earlier. :/

Follow me then you won't miss my next challenge :)
Every time I will announce the time of the next challenge 24 hours in advance first (like this one) , then you can set an alarm so that you won't miss it :p

haha, you got yourself a new follower :D

I'll try to catch the most recent one and add it to the next @math-trail curated list :-)

Whoops I missread, I showed my steps, hope that isn't a problem.

nvm, a very detailed explanation btw haha ;)

Interesting way of conducting it. Will be interested to see the response rates. Good luck with it!

Thanks!

I received your answer already btw, thanks for participating :)

Ah... idiot me! It's late and did it in my head! :-D

Oh ya just realized you have submitted twice
it's fine, I will always use you latest submission, the earlier one will be discarded :)

Answer submitted :)

Great, will announce the contest result after 24 hours :)

I will solve it when I get home, looks like a fun challenge.

Sent in my response.

Great! Hope you enjoyed this challenge

Very nice! Maybe I´ll take part in one of your contests in the future. Love it.

then just visit my blog and see my latest contest! It is coming tomorrow!!