The Hardest I Ever Worked In My Life on a Post Am I Doing Something Wrong?

in #chainbb7 years ago (edited)

I have never worked so hard on a post in my life and after the first hour it stopped getting love. Writing quality content on Steemit is like iron sharpening iron. I put my soul into this one though, and while it didn't get the response I wanted at the same time it performed better than I expected, which is a contradiction I know. Steemit's bureaucracy has a learning curve but I am well on my way to cracking it. I would appreciate any feedback you can give.

Here is the Post I am Referring to: Steemit Disrupted Social Media in 2017 and Established "The New Labor Economy" | 5 Year Prediction

Sort:  

Keep working, your audience will find you.

Simon, I feel your pain! Checked out your post, I like the quotes and graphics, and while understand your intent to show meaning between the lines, the white spacemay have been a deteriment as it creates excessive scrolling. That said I love the people and ideas you chose to quote. I've not been here long, but I wrote one the other day I thought people would relate to, it's a bit fluffy, but I wrote it because I was so pleased when I discovered a post I was reading was actually by the founder of steemit. https://steemit.com/philosophy/@erolsommer/does-your-participation-in-social-media-have-value It didn't get much response either.

It may be that it's not so much what you write, but who reads it! Perhaps the difference lies in the "Whale" votes. When someone with a lot of steem votes for you, it can really bump up your post. Good Luck in your future posts!

This is the complexity of Steemit. The most I made on a post before this one was 0.14 cents and as you can see this one earned significantly more than that, and at the same time much less than I expected considering the fact that it earned everything in the first day and since then has actually been losing money slowly leading to the 7th day. This, I am very certain, has more to do with understanding the science behind how Steemit works and less about the content itself as in all media the rule still applies, "if I haven't seen it, it's new to me." This means if the post had the same level of community exposure from day 1 to day 7, it would continue to increase in earnings naturally. Unless there is some alternate factor that influences post exposure, such as

1)The algorithm preferring new over old.

2)Excessive minnow votes, without whale or dolphin votes, diluting the payout by increasing the shares but not the price, thus making the article itself less appealing to curators focused on high payout content and not necessarily content they find to be high quality (a trajectory which is basically determined within the first hour of a post absent of a few random whale upvotes).

3)Elephant in the room (favoritism, scams, manipulation etc...). This I have not seen personally, and I don't necessarily think even if it existed would impact high quality content over the long hall, but it does mean a steemian, like myself who doesn't do an official introduction post, and just posts an article out of the blue with no core following, is probably going to get out-earned by a cat meme.

Side note: I am actually all for free market capitalism and bending the rules until they damn near break for a competitive edge, so I am not going to denounce anyone for manipulating the system to keep themselves on top, except for the fact that the system has to stay a working system. Regardless of what anyone thinks about the post I made, If I keep writing posts like that one consistently and keep getting outperformed by lackadaisical subject matter bullshit posts, it will mean the system is broken. And the only way to hide it would be to undermine my credibility as a creator, or imply my subjects or style doesn't necessarily satisfy the core demographic of the steemit community. Both of these arguments are complete bullshit. I was a Washington D.C. Capitol Hill reporter and I watch Rick and Morty, proof.

Hey @vmsolutionsltd. First, thank you for your great post.
Here having similar disappointments. 30 minutes, and the post seem to drown away. I happens to me regularly. Main thing is to keep going. The one thing out of many Steemit related post I took away is: Persistence + quality = success. So, don't give up.

Now that's what I call a motivational comment...
Good on you!

Don't give up! I really enjoyed that post you wrote and thought it was very insightful. It has been one of my favorites since I have been on here. Innovation doesn't get talked about enough. There is so much potential there.

Even if it is just a few people, everyone starts somewhere. I know if you keep making posts like the previous one, you will do great here.

Just like anything in life, what's important to one might not be for some others. Sorry my dear. It happens to all of us. Aloha!

That would be the expected answer, but as the Brits say, "it's complete BOLLOCKS." Not to throw salt on anyone else and their success on the platform, but I have seen much worse do much better, so I can only assume I need to work on my ground game, commenting and engagement etc... To believe what you are saying would imply there is no audience for my content as opposed to me not finding my audience yet. Thanks for the Aloha though and right back at you.

Or u can always fund your account for more steem power

Are we measuring wallets here?

I recently deposited more Steem. The entire concept of Steem Power, Steem Dollars and Steem eludes me. I understand the core definitions of what they are in relation to one another, but I watched $188 balance in my wallet rise to $430 in a matter of days, with minimal contribution on my end. During that time I wrote 200 comments across posts and upvoted regularly and while I received multiple SP and SBD rewards I would be surprised if collectively they were worth more than $20. If the rise was mostly due to the rise in STEEM price, then it means I would have been better off depositing all of the crypto I have on Poloniex onto Steemit as SP. I even have Steem on Poloniex. I can proudly say I understand about 80% of how Steemit works, but that final 20% involves confusion understanding...

1)How the conversion rate between STEEM and SP impacts powering down and the sustained value of deposits, and what role do MVESTS play in this?

2)If it's true that SBD is always held to a dollar with 10% annual interest, when the price of SBD rises to 1.7 to the dollar, should I exchange it for STEEM before it's periodically pulled back to the price of a dollar and how do I know when that will happen.

3)I know the rules about upvoting and not upvoting more than 20 times a day, and I know I can track my upvoting power on steemd, but as a principle I always upvote comments on my posts regardless of my power but still want to upvote posts for curation points. I read that when you upvote more than 20 times it statrs to reduce the value of your rewards. I put a lot of thoughts into my comments and have received valuable upvotes for them but notice a significant fluctuations in my rewards that directly correlate between when I am asleep verses awake as in higher during periods when I was asleep 7 days ago and lower when I was awake 7 days ago. I suspect this upvoting policy has something to do with it, but I am not sure.

Participating for a few days/weeks isn't enough on Steem, it takes a long time to ramp up to the point where you're consistently earning rewards. Many months I would say.

To answer some of your questions:

  1. The conversion rates don't impact it at all, only that more people may power down if the price is high. SP is STEEM, 1 SP = 1 STEEM, it's just locked up. VESTS are a representation of STEEM as well, with currently 1 MVEST = 482.911, and this number increases slowly. So holding VESTS technically increases your SP holdings over time, sort of like an interest rate.
  2. No, you shouldn't use the SBD -> STEEM conversion when the price is above $1. It converts at the price of $1, so you're losing money if you convert. There's also no 10% interest right now, there's 0% APR (as set by the witnesses).
  3. Voting power is a little confusing, technically you can vote as many times as you want per day, but just become less effective every time you vote. The voting power display shows what percentage of your voting power remains, and that percentage regenerates at a rate of 20% per day. Each vote consumes roughly 0.5% of your remaining voting power, so when at 100%, 1 vote would bring it down to 99.5%. 40 votes is the upper limits of what you can vote with each day while still regenerating to 100% of your voting power.

Hope that helps, feel free to ask more questions :)

🍒 Super useful info, thanks! o_o

cleared a few things up with me i was struggling to grasp so thanks for the help @livethedream0208

Hi Viral Media Solutions,

I think with all Social Media, the best way to succeed is 'Engagement'.

The best way to get engagement on Steemit is to post 2 times a day,
and interact with those commenting, and build a follower base.

I hope this helps out!

It does help out, but I am suspecting there is much more to it such as steemit forums and chat groups outside the platform, whaleshares, multi-accounts etc... I love Steemit because it's the wild west. My epic soul consuming post performed as badly as it did because Steemit is the wild west. Free market capital in social media form. Put me anywhere on God's green earth, I will triple my worth...it just might take longer than expected.

Loved the style of the article and I've upvoted it and followed you.
Don't lose heart yet, that kind of content will eventually gain followers for you and before you know your average price per post will be increasing.

Ok @adamm, I am going to hold you to that. You better be right, if not I am going to come back and find you.

content is important yes. Marketability is also. Some subjects sell better than others. WHO is upvoting also plays a part. I also think key words go into play. I have had a post or two that I was disappointed in as well. It is all an alga rhythm that we all wonder about. It also seams that If a person is at a certain reputation level (average) the sometimes do not get the upvotes they deserve. Perhaps others will comment as well. I will share a post of mine on Steemit O hope you like it. - Troy

https://steemit.com/steemit/@enjoywithtroy/understanding-the-steemit-alga-rhythm-everyone-share-your-thoughts-and-tips

I just read your post and upvoted it. You have the right idea. The same idea that I had with this post just now. I hope it didn't come across as lazy but I find a Google search or video tutorial can never match just asking a community directly for help. I love how Steemit drives engagement when the right questions are asked. You're right content is important, but you got to know the science.