One Meal A Day

in #challenge6 years ago

I am on a project to experience first hand how people with precarious access to food live.

This is a spinoff of the $5 challenge, which has seen quite a number of people participate, with varying outcomes. I must clarify that the inflation rate in Singapore is quite stable, which makes the purchasing power of $5 relatively stable over the entire period.

A news article in 2013 detailing the challenge
Someone tried it in 2014
Another did so in 2015
And one in 2017

Now, as I live in Argentina, with inflation through the roof, doing a challenge based on monetary value just does not make sense. The basket of goods $5 can buy today will definitely be bigger than the basket of goods $5 can buy at the end of the month. So, instead of measuring my challenge success by how much I spend on food per day, I am going to measure it by how much I eat per day.

I do not live in a sophisticated laboratory, so calorie counting to the second decimal place is out, as well as micro and macro nutrient counting.

What I can reliably measure is portion size, so that will have to serve as a guide to this experiment.

The challenge:
Live on plain water (tap water in my case, at room temperature) for 22 hours a day and eat a regular meal within the 2 hour "eating window". Make this project last one month, or until I get too weak physically, sense health problems emerge, or simply become too cranky to function in society.

Warning:
Do not undertake this challenge yourself if you have any medical condition, are still growing up, are pregnant or breastfeeding, or your daily activities require extreme physical exertion. Your safety always comes first. Consult a medical professional before embarking on crazy adventures like these.