One Meal A Day (Day 1, 6/3/2018)

in #challenge6 years ago

One Meal A Day Challenge

I began my challenge yesterday after a normal dinner at 8pm on Monday 5/3/2018.

8am: Woke up, drank 500ml of water. Have the urge to clear my bowels. Keep reminding myself, cannot eat, cannot eat, cannot eat. This constant "back of the head" thought is irritating.

10am: Drank 500ml of water. Cleared my bowels. Smelly. I have obviously been eating rubbish the last few days.

1130am: Drank 250ml of water. Time passes so slowly. Sat down to read a magazine.

1230pm: Tidied 2 cupboard shelves. A strong desire to clean out my house while cleaning my body from the inside. Drank 250ml of water. This thirsty feeling persists. Not hunger. I'm pretty sure it isn't hunger. Stomach is not growling nor uncomfortable, although the desire for food and the constant nagging "cannot eat" still occupies half my conscious thought.

2pm: The neighbours begin cooking and eating. Despite the smells, I don't even feel hungry. The thirst is consistent though, not drinking any water. Just finished a 1-hour long documentary on youtube.

330pm: Downed another 250ml of water. Am I drinking out of boredom or because I am truly thirsty? Emptied my bladders, slightly coloured, so I am not dehydrated, nor overly hydrated. Restless, cannot settle down on doing any one thing. Brain wanders about. Yet there is no feeling of hunger nor desire when I look at food. The food is ready-to-eat, a bit of bread and some apples are left in plain sight on the kitchen table. I can't even blame this lack of desire to eat on laziness to cook.

430pm: Decided a walk in the park will relive some boredom. Not a brain heavy activity that requires concentration. I can't even read a paragraph without having my mind wander off halfway now. The park is 3.5km from my house, that is 6km to-and-fro. I felt slightly weak in the knees on the way there. Is it due to a lack of energy? I carried just my keys and a 500ml bottle of water; there are refill points in the park. Perhaps for safety sake I should just walk there and back.

530pm: Reached the first refill point, gulped down the entire 500ml I had and refilled. Decided to make one turn around the lake. 3km.

7pm: Reached home. The return leg was relatively easier, despite being technically hungrier. I put it down to momentum. The sun is still shining bright. Sunset occurs at around 8pm at this time of year. Downed another 500ml of water. That is a whole litre for the walk. This same walk on normal days demand just about 500ml of water.

8pm: Began to prepare onion soup. Still not yet hungry, but don't want to wait till the last minute to cook. Being a little hungry is fine, but being ravenous is not. Added a bit of salt and melted some slices of pre-toasted bread in the soup. The bread will spoil if I keep it for too long, so I use it as a carbohydrate rice-replacement. After the soup, two apples as dessert. A little fruit fibre will be good.

Dinner

10pm: I am full. Very full. My heart has begun to beat fast enough to be felt. It is exactly the same as how I feel when I eat too quickly, or how I feel after stuffing up at a all-you-can-eat buffet. I can practically conclude that starving for a whole day and then going on to gorge yourself at a buffet is not a good idea; you won't end up eating the house down.

1030pm: Bedtime. Bored after the one and only meal of the day, no desire to have dessert or to munch on anything. It seems binge eating after starving hasn't yet occurred in me.

Sort:  

Well done to you. I admire your decision to "fast", I have seen that this is a very good thing to do. I saw a man i think he called himself "Ra" but he was a doctor if a remember right, he was quite was spiritual minded, but he'd eat everything he needed too for the day in the morning. I remember he was in his 50's but looked super young and super fit, very athletic and in good shape i must say. It is something I want to try eventually but at the right time when I can fully focus on creating a long lasting routine.

Respect mathslover. Keep it going!! Keep posting on Steem also, you will soon find your feet and evolve here. Good luck and speak soon :)

I'll read up about what he does. Probably eating the only meal of the day in the morning instead of at night is a good idea. Might try it and see how it differs psychologically, since physically it is one portion every 24 hours either way.

This post has received a 2.06 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @physics.benjamin.