Lucid Dreaming Challenge - Day 3 - False Awakenings

in #challenge7 years ago

wake up

Progress

I awoke early morning around 5:00. I decided to try the MILD technique using a dream from yesterday since I didn't remember the one I had just awoken from. After repeating to myself for a while "next time I'm dreaming I will remember that I'm dreaming," I started to visualize myself in the dream becoming lucid. I'm not sure if I was trying too hard, but I could not fall asleep. I eventually gave up on visualizing or repeating the mantra and I think it was near 6:30 or 7 when I finally fell back asleep.
I had one dream then it transitioned to a weird half awake dream. I was conscious that I was experiencing a dream, but it was like I was watching a video. The 'camera' panned across the top of a dresser made of golden wood, showing the objects on the top. It then moved down and each of the drawers opened up in turn. I knew it was a dream but the edges were bright, like my eyes were cracked. I felt as if I fully closed my eyes I would lose the dream. When the camera made it to the bottom I closed my eyes all the way. Suddenly I snapped awake. I was driving down the freeway in the passing lane. I had drifted off to sleep behind the wheel.* I swerved a little and couldn't believe I had done that. I felt lucky that I was still on the road and I wondered how long to had been asleep.
Then I actually woke up. It had been a false awakening. Many people report that they will have semi lucid dreams that destabilize and they wake up. Only later when they actually wake up do they realize they had still been dreaming. To avoid this always to a reality check when you wake up, just in case. I had forgotten about false awakenings but now I will be doing a reality check every time I wake up.

DateDreams RememberedLucid Dreams
7/2600
7/273 fragments0
7/281 fragment0
7/291.51 partial

*do not attempt to lucid dream while driving, doing so may result in death or serious harm of yourself or others. Although driving inside a lucid dream should be okay.