How Many Comments Per Day Do You Post? Why? [30 Days Writing Challenge Day #23]

in #challenge30days6 years ago

comments.png


I was invited by @shredz7 to participate in the 30 Days Writing Challenge by @dragosroua. I have to tell you right away that I'm extremely busy since I became a full time student so I might not be able to participate much, but I'll do my best.

I have published articles for Day 1, 2, 7, 18, 19 and 22 so far. This is for day 23.


Today's Topic:

How Many Comments Per Day Do You Post? Why?


many.png


I have been a member on Steemit since July 2016. I don't know exactly how many days that is and I really don't think it's necessary to give you an exact amount, so I'll just do this instead:

August, September, October, November and December. 2016.

12 months during 2017.

5 months in 2018.

These combined are 22 months.

22x30 = 660.


So, I've been a member on Steemit for about 660 days in total.

If we look at Steemworld, we can see these stats:


postscount.png


Now, I don't know how accurate this is, but, 678 + 4577 = 5255, which is the total amount of posts I have according to the above screenshot, so I guess this is pretty accurate.

However, we can't just take the total amount of 5255 divided by 660, because I haven't been active each day... But, if we take the amount of comments and divide that with 660, we will get another estimated amount of posts I make on a daily average:

4577/660 = 6.93


6.png


Again, this isn't accurate but it gives us a rather decent average number. I have always strived to reply to each comment I get on my own articles, except for spam and other retarded comments. I know that I'm not perfect and I know that I'm missing out on some comments from time to time, but my goal is to respond to each comment I get.

And I want to do that, because my readers are my most valuable asset on Steemit. I know, many would probably disagree with that statement, but I believe it's true. So, I work hard to reply on each comment I get, because I don't want my followers or readers to feel neglected or ignored.

  • And why?

I do what I do because I believe it's the perfect way to build an audience. I am looking for a way to grow on Steemit and I start with the basics.

Talk with the people who reads your content. If they leave a comment on your article, make sure to reply! - That's the easiest way to maintain a good relationship and to show that you're serious and professional. That attracts people.

I know that there are dozens of established Steemians who are well-rewarded for their articles who ignores all their readers. They never respond to any comments and they just publish content to rake in massive rewards... - Don't be like them.

Steemit is a social platform, and honestly speaking, I am rather terrible at writing comments on other people's articles, but I make sure to reply to the comments I get on my own. Because in the end, we are on a social platform.


Make friends. - That's a golden rule. You don't have to become best friends with everyone... But you'll have to set your mark. You need to build your own brand. On Steemit, your brand is obviously your username.

Make sure that people remember you. Write good quality articles and put in the extra few seconds to write a superb comment on articles you read instead of "thank you's". - Build your brand - Build yourself!

That's how winning is done!


contact2.png

The best way to contact me is through comments on my articles or on Discord

I do have a life outside of Steemit and the @asapers, and I often get multiple messages each day so it might take some time for me to respond. Feel free to message me again if you haven't heard anything in a few hours or a day.


Take A Look At This Article:

This article covers many aspects of Steemit, so please, make sure to read that before you send me questions you easily could've found the answer for. This makes it easier for everyone!


Thank You For The Support!

Sort:  

Well, I'm in full agreement that replying to comments on your own post is a must, other than those you noted. I'd also say, at least in my case, that commenting as much as I can on other people's posts is important, too. I haven't been here a long time yet, so I'm still building an audience and so I'm going out to them since it's not likely they're seeing me.

So far, it's been yielding satisfactory results, so the plan is to keep doing it.

commenting as much as I can on other people's posts is important, too.

That is important. For everyone. However, I personally believe that you as an author who publish articles, should reply to the comments on your articles before anything else. But, many established Steemians are ignoring the comments and their readers... Which is sad.

Sounds like you have a good plan, and I wish you the best of luck! :)

I hope so. Thanks. And I'm in total agreement. It isn't good, and won't be helpful in the end, if people disregard or don't make time for the comments on their own posts. I'm not established, so I don't know what that feels like, but I hope to continue to reply to every comment I receive at whatever point I might actually be the 'established Steemian.' :)

Well, I've always said that my readers are my most valuable asset on Steemit, and I'll continue to say that no matter if I have 1000 or 100,000 Steem.

I would never ignore or neglect my readers like some authors are doing. I think it's a terrible behaviour.

With time, we'll both be really established Steemians! :)

Im sure there are some well proven strategies but on a basic level if you take the time to put out well thought out content, and comments that add value i think youre half way there.

if you take the time to put out well thought out content, and comments that add value i think youre half way there.

So true. Well said!

So true! There are so many people on here, that you have to do something to stand out, and I think commenting is the way to do that...well, genuine commenting that is.

Like many, when I joined steemit I thought I would write a very good post and sit back and wait for people to come and read it, but of course, it didn't happen that way. I had a paradigm shift and realized I was the one who needed to 'get out there' and meet people first. It's like moving to a new town where you don't know anyone, and throwing a well-planned party...of course no one is going to show up. You need to get out in that town, meet people, show who you are, and eventually, people will show up at your house :)

of course no one is going to show up. You need to get out in that town, meet people, show who you are, and eventually, people will show up at your house :)

That is very true!

I guess I was/am lucky and fortunate enough to not having to do that as much as newcomers nowadays due to my previous presence and engagement. From the time I was new... But, it is most certainly necessary to meet people on a daily basis to continue to grow. I guess that's part of the reason the amount of comments I get on my articles nowadays are less than before I started to study. It's because I don't have the same amount of time, so I can't contribute as much as previously.

But one thing to remember is that you'll always have various results no matter what you do. And it's not about you. It's about all the other factors that plays a role.

For instance, the amount of time you and the readers have. If you or them have found the article... The subject and so on.

However, as long as you are active and you're trying to meet new people, you will definitely benefit from it with time.

Thanks for the comment! :)

But one thing to remember is that you'll always have various results no matter what you do. And it's not about you.

I'm so glad you said that, because honestly, sometimes it's easy to get yourself 'down' about a poor post payout or something stupid like that :)

I agree, some way or another, you benefit from engagement! Regarding noticing "less comments" on your articles...I've heard that from many people now. I'm not quite sure what it all means.

And you're welcome, it was my pleasure.

I guess everyone has their own strategy to publishing and writing comments. I'd say there's probably no one single best way to play this steemit game. It's more important to have fun and enjoy the steemit ride. Cheers!

That is very true. I wouldn't say that I am the best or have the best approach or results. But I personally believe it is the best way, at least for me. However, as you said, it's more important to have fun but many Steemians doesn't care about fun. They care about rewards and nothing else besides that. Which is also one of the reasons for many Steemians to neglect their readers & followers in many ways.

Thank you for your comment!

JAN 2017: ~16 month: ~480 day

1662 posts | 8737 comments

8737/480 = ~18.20 comments per day
1662/480 = ~ 3.46 posts per day

Because I post a lot and often get engagement, most of my comments are on my own blog too. I also upvote many comments and spend ~2 full votes a day on people's comment. I figure that people go to a ot of effort to comment so it is the least I can do. Although it is hard to get to them all, I try my best to answer as many as possible adequately but, it gets difficult sometimes.

Awesome stats. Thanks for sharing.

Many of my publications used to get a decent amount of comments but it feels like there have been a decrease in comments these past ~3 months or so. Nowadays I'm lucky if I get ~10 comments, but it also depends on what I publish.

However, my approach has always been that I need to take care of my own blog before anything else. My readers and my followers comes first. After that, I'll go for other things. That's why I strive to reply to the comments I get on my articles but even if I don't respond, I upvote the comments 9 out of 10 times, as a token of appreciation.

Like you said, it takes time and effort to write comments, which is why I would never just ignore them. I don't understand how some authors can ignore and neglect their supporters that way.

Sooner or later, I guess the authors who've been neglecting their supporters will be punished for it, in some way.

Edit:

I try my best to answer as many as possible adequately but, it gets difficult sometimes.

I obviously understand that it would be nearly impossible to respond to all if I had 100 comments on each article I published... But some authors doesn't seem to care at all. No matter if they get 1 or 100 comments. That's just a shitty behaviour in my opinion.

I don't understand how some authors can ignore and neglect their supporters that way.
Sooner or later, I guess the authors who've been neglecting their supporters will be punished for it, in some way.

They don't care. I know some very overly rewarded writers who barely engage and when they do, it is only with the higher reps/SP holder. My comment/engagement level is really high mostly because I reward but, also because I decided not to care too much about the Rep and just answer the comment on its merits. Of course, the people i know will get attention generally anyway and it is more casual.

No matter if they get 1 or 100 comments. That's just a shitty behaviour in my opinion.

Yes. I think there is also a timeliness to it. 3-4 days is too long. However, I have had to start skipping reading backwards too far as ther are just too many. I try my best though. A lot of the time now, commenting takes longer to write than the post...

I think there is also a timeliness to it. 3-4 days is too long. However, I have had to start skipping reading backwards too far as ther are just too many. I try my best though. A lot of the time now, commenting takes longer to write than the post...

I hear you!
People comment on old articles of mine from time to time. A handful of times per week at least, and I usually ignore those.

If I would get 30-40 comments on each article I publish, I'd probably be forced to reconsider my approach a bit too, as it's time consuming to keep up with the comments. But I would never ignore all of them. Not today and not if I had 1 million SP or SBD either. That's just rude as hell.

Before I started to study though, my approach were slightly different because I had more time to invest on Steemit. Since I started to study, I've been struggling to keep up with all the things I want to do, but I'm trying.