Dreaming In Shades of Green ~ The Three Sisters Companion Planting

in #challenge30days6 years ago

reclaim garden three sisters plantings.jpg

I first learned of The Three Sisters last year, while I was studying what I should plant next to what and why. The whole companion planting idea is brilliant, with plants supporting plants in the garden. And, it makes beautiful and perfect sense! The Iroquois had been using this planting method for over 300 years, by the time the first set of settlers from Europe arrived on their shores. The Native Americans' legend has it that the plants were gifted to them by the gods, and should always be grown together, eaten together and honored together. (From The Old Farmers Almanac)

The Three Sisters are Corn, Beans and Squash. The Corn is said to be the supporting older Sister, enabling the growing efforts of the Beans, while the Squash shelters the roots from the heat with her widespread leaves, keeping the ground cool and moist. Beans, the Giving Sister, are a Nitrogen rich grower, and they transfer this into the soil, to the benefit of all three. As the Beans are growing through the tangled Squash vines to make their way to the Corn, they hold the Sisters together. The Squash also has prickly leaves, which helps deter raccoons and such, who would, otherwise, eat the crops. A bowl of the three, as a meal, would provide a completely balanced meal for the Iroquois Indian.

The legend isn't concrete about exactly what kind of each should be planted...for my first try, I did a Sugarbaby Sweet Corn, with Kentucky Wonder Green Beans and Zucchini in one pot. The second pot had the same corn, with Snow Peas and Yellow Squash. My error? Pots were too small! It was a failure. Gardening is a learning experience! I'll try again this year. While this is, most often, done with direct planting onto a mound about 4' diameter, my garden babies have to be able to be in raised gardens. I'll either go with a splash pool, so I can do the planting as the legend states, or larger pots, placed right by each other...Corn has to be close to its neighbors for pollination purposes, according to what I've read.

These directions for the planting of The Ancient Three Sisters Method are from The Old Farmers Almanac...I defer to their expertise!

garden gate three sisters illustration.jpg

To try them in your garden, in spring, prepare the soil by adding fish scraps or wood ash to increase fertility, if desired.
• Make a mound of soil about a foot high and four feet wide.
• When the danger of frost has passed, plant the corn in the mound. Sow six kernels of corn an inch deep and about ten inches apart in a circle of about 2 feet in diameter.
• When the corn is about 5 inches tall, plant four bean seeds, evenly spaced, around each stalk. About a week later, plant six squash seeds, evenly spaced, around the perimeter of the mound

I'd love to hear your feedback, if you've ever done this type of planting, how yours fared for you! Or what types of beans and squash gave you the best harvest. I'll be doing further research before I plant, this year!

Until next time, fellow Steemians, take care and Steem on!

Sort:  

I really want to try this method in my little garden this year!

It's such a beautiful idea...<3