Tab for a Cause – Donating to Charity by Browsing the Web

in #charity6 years ago

Today I’ll be writing about Tab for a Cause, which is a charitable organisation that donates the advertising revenue that it obtains from its users to other charities around the world. 

How it Works:

For a user to begin obtaining advertising revenue for Tab for a Cause, they first have to download and activate their browser extension. Users can receive their extension using either Google Chrome or Firefox.

Once activated, the user’s default browser page is changed to the Tab for a Cause one. 


It sure is relaxing viewing nature (it almost makes up for not seeing it IRL!)


Once set up, the user obtains a ‘Heart’ which can be viewed on the top right. Hearts are like a point system which roughly indicates how much advertising revenue the user has obtained for charity so far. 

Once the user has accumulated some Hearts, they can donate them to one of eight not-for-profit organisations which are creating a positive impact worldwide. I donate all my Hearts to Conservation International.

 

My fellow Steemians, we must save the Sloths!


I have used Tab for a Cause for two days so far. In that time, I have donated 278 Hearts. According to their website, a single tab raises between 1/10 and 1/3 of a cent for charity. Based off this, I have personally raised between 27.8 to 83.4 cents for charity. Not bad at all! 

Want to get involved?

If you decide that you wish to use Tab for a Cause, please consider using my referral link. For each user that uses my referral link, I will receive 350 extra Hearts that will be donated towards one of the eight organisations listed. If you use the referral link and have a preference as to where that 350 hearts should be donated, please tell me in the comments below!

Referral link: https://tab.gladly.io/?u=CryptoGrant

Non-referral link: https://tab.gladly.io/

Disclaimer: I did not receive any compensation, and I was not asked by Tab For a Cause to make this post. I decided to talk about this charity because I believe it is an excellent way that we can contribute to organisations which are doing great things while browsing the web.

From now on, I will be posting a bi-annual update on how much we have raised so far. This will be just one of the many charities that I’ll be discussing in which we as users can create social impact via our actions in our everyday lives.

Until we meet again!

Grant

Sort:  

Thank you so much for your nice post. Hey can I borrow some SBD from you? Will pay you back tomorrow.

https://steemit.com/donations/@pjcswart/help-me-see-my-kids-more

Reminds me of humblebundle! Because in the end, each party involved gets something out of it. Whether it be utility from the extension, or games from a humble bundle. Money is put in and is donated to a cause.
So you don't have to be /too/ selfless when it comes to helping others. lol.

That's a great way of putting it c8it! Hopefully browser extensions like these will increase our awareness of charities and thus personal donations in the long term. Thank you very much for your comment :).

This post received a 6.300 SBD (93.74%) upvote from @upvotewhale thanks to @cryptogrant! For more information, check out my profile!

Good job! Thanks to @cryptogrant you have planted 1.24 tree to save Abongphen Highland Forest in Cameroon. Help me to plant 1,000,000 trees and share my Steem Power to the others. Selfvoting is prohibited, but that should be the reason to spread the world to protect our precious environment. Check out profile of our conservation association @kedjom-keku and the founder/coordinator @martin.mikes to get more information about our conservation program. My current SP is 18379.60. Help me to plant more trees with your delegated SP.

Thanks a lot,
your @treeplanter
www.kedjom-keku.com

Sneaky Ninja Attack! You have been defended with a 1.34% vote... I was summoned by @cryptogrant! I have done their bidding and now I will vanish...Whoosh

You got a 1.49% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @cryptogrant!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!