You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My first video: Upvote a tree- Charity starts with Steemit. Your upvote will plant trees in Peru. 20 planted to date

in #charity6 years ago

mate :) thank you for that tip. I will do that from now on, but I can't get seaweed solution here. Could I use anything else? I can get guano, worm castings instead. I was also thinking about building basic frames and making wind blockers. I don't want to tempt wind burn, but it means the trunk will be vertical and not tilted.

Video of me was weird but I just had @world-travel-pro (he does a sweet travel blog here) come visit me, the town and see this project first hand. I had just finished planting the trees you see at the end of this video and he comes out filming. I couldn't just like say "no chance", I understand the value of video on Steemit, just being shy and awkward about it. But I know in a few more videos, it gets easier and more defined.

The aim is basically getting this 'vote a tree' post going and expanding the reforestation initiative. Would be cool to plant hundreds of thousands of trees. Plenty open land to do so here and replace depleted resources. All with an upvote, brilliant isn't it and got to love the opportunities/positives coming from Steem.

Sort:  

I would suggest just mixing some worm castings and guano into the planting mix to boost your plants.
Just use water in the holes, it may take up to 24hrs+ to drain if the drainage is poor but you will see the results! (your soil looks to have adequate drainage so shouldnt take too long.)
I think one stake either side of the plants with a tie around the outside is best for support as it still allows the plants to move in the wind creating a stronger plant in the end.
Happy planting mate and hope to see more going in the ground soon :-)

ok I will get some worm castings and guano this week. I will make sure each new tree from now on has this. But tell me how much I should use per litre of fresh water. thank you boss.

Hard to give exact measurements without testing the organic matter but a good rule of thumb is to make it look like a weak tea.