Upvote a tree- Charity starts with Steemit. Your upvote will plant trees in Peru: 18 planted to date (6th post 2nd March 2018).

in #charity6 years ago (edited)

I have recently taken to writing posts that will enable reforestation in Northern Peru. Upvoted posts plant trees! Today we planted 6 Algarrobo native tree saplings and all thanks to Steemit! 

(Thank you Steem)

In the first step of addressing the issue of local deforestation. In partnership with steemit. I have started to plant native tree saplings around where I live. I have been able to do this with your simple upvotes. Simple.

This week was a very busy week. From baking a lot of bread, to making sandwiches for the Steemit Sandwich Contest hosted by @jaybird, catching up with the one and only  world-travel-pro and planting trees for steem. 

Before I continue any further I would like to thank the  following for their upvotes:  

natureofbeing   jaybird   jeffjagoe   ddschteinn   artwatch   youareyourowngod   sandrina.life   lizelle   world-travel-pro   thereceptionist   mazzle   imperialaussie   unusualconfusion   tersuppgeders   ribooripi   joepike  gold84 choosefreedom   erinn   brizhorticulture   christinevenus   conradino23    

But a big shout out goes to @bleedpoet for his steem donation and to @artwatchfor their SBD donation. 

We have raised a total so far of:

30 Steem and 10.407 SBD

Outcomes to date:

  • 18 native trees planted 
  • 480 Peru Soles donated to EcoSwell not for profit: forwarded to their reforestation program.
  • Creation of carbon offset directly derived for all Steem activities (takes a lot of energy to propel Steem). 
  • Building a socio-enviromental aware community platform on Steemit. 

Amazing what can Steem can do with a simple click. Thank you to all supporters of this cause. It couldn't happen without you. 

I got another 6 Algarrobo tree saplings from the Ecoswell garden nursery. It was all I could fit or carry in my bag. They are quite thorny, designed to keep wildlife at bay, but got me spiked a few times on the way home. No worries. All in the name of a good cause. 

(The EcoSwell not for profit garden nursery) 

I am still planting these tree saplings around where I live. This makes it easier for me to go out and water them. The seasonal wind is picking up here. So I am now attaching the trees to reused bamboo stakes. If it gets too windy, I will get protective frames made up. 

(6 more added to the others already planted on this patch of soil)

I won't say that digging out 6 holes in this soil is easy, but I had the help of a hammer  to smash out some rocks! This soil will not stop these trees from growing, as they are renown for their heavy duty roots. Locally they are called "floor lifter" in Spanish. 

(One of many dedicated to Steem) 

I donate 100% of the SBD earned on the reforestation posts   (like this one) to a local ngo called Ecoswell. This ngo has a  reforestation program in which they have small garden nurseries in the   village. I donate to them and I get lots of tree saplings to plant myself. This on behalf of all you upvoters. Please see the donation receipts below for this week:

(150 Peruvian Soles/46USD)

(280 Peruvian Soles/ 86USD)

This morning I picked up another 6 Algarrobo tree saplings. I will plant and post about this on Sunday.  It is getting to a point where I will need to enlist local help to plant more trees. 

(ready to go)

My most recent posts that  includes a written description, photos and personal  comment feedback:

5th post:  Upvote a tree- Charity starts with Steemit: 12 planted to date. (5th post, 23rd Feb.2018)

4th post: Upvote a tree- Charity starts with Steemit. Your upvote will plant trees in Peru: 10 planted to date

3rd post: I won some steem on SSC, so I bought a tree and planted it. [18th Feb. 2018: 3rd Post] 10 trees planted to date. 

My first post about this: I won some steem on SSC, so I bought a tree and planted it.  

If you would like to read my posts, then find me here @intrepidsurfer

Sort:  

Great work @intrepidsurfer, certainly doing amazing stuff in your neck of the woods...well it will be woods one of these days with all the trees you're planting from upvotes, have resteemed. Awesome determination to better the world! See you @ SSC30!

making a burger today for ssc30, but it won't be nothing compared to yours! thank you for all your support @lizelle

Amazeballs I am so delighted that you are doing this. Makes an upvote seem like a big difference over time.

Cool - so cool!

Legend and thank you so much @artwatch I have called a meeting with the not for profit this week. I want to scale up the tree planting to reflect the increase in upvotes and donations. I will post about this and the tree planting this week. I am so pleased that lots of people want to contribute to this project. It is very humbling.

Again, thank you,

@intrepidsurfer

The pleasure is truly mine - I always wanted to plant a forest. I don't have the land for it though. I wanted to get into permaculture for sometime and even considered a agricultural apprenticeship... basically a nice way of saying a farmers free labour while he/her teaches me things about the land and proper animal upkeep.

I would love to donate to a Permaculture like project if you ever take on suggestions from donors. It would also be interesting to see fruit trees that could grow in that area.

Oh I am totally with you on the permaculture @artwatch . The local not for profit do some permaculture, but I don't want to rush things too quickly with them. There is not point for them to try and run before they can walk. I will bring the topic up when I meet them and I will keep you posted.

You helped start a forest here :)

plant a seed and we can all watch it grow. It wouldnt have been possible without you @artwatch

Awesome, keep up the great work. May I suggest no more Algarrobo trees, I hear they're real pricks😂

All thanks to you bru and I have many more to plant. There are other types of native trees available to plant (without thorns). There is also an option to plant indian neem tree plants, but I need to research a bit more on this. I don't want to encourage any invasive species here.

This is incredible and u are incredible doing all that hard labour for free... for love.... thank you so much for trying to make the world better and help heal it 💜💛💚💙❤ xoxo

Thank you very much @christinevenus for your kind words. One of the many wonders of steem is giving us an opportunity to make things better for all of us.

Excellent work!!!!
I will venture out that way and check them out one day!
Happy gardening :-)

Plenty more to put into the ground, but I am stoked about the whole thing. In time I would look into a drip feed system if there were a larger batch to maintain. When are you thinking about heading to Peru?

hopefully late this year or early next, all depends on how hard I can shake the money tree :-)

hopefully you can shake it quite hard.

Awesome dude! And that’s great that both the donations are coming in and ur growin the opp enough to require additional help!

Oh it is @jaybird and I am super stoked about all of this. I have worked in the past in protected areas (national parks) in various countries. So I am planning the next few steps ahead, but I see vast potential in this.

Chatting with local ngo who provide me with the tree saplings and work with local community members for their own garden nurseries. The idea has been floated about purchasing native trees saplings directly from the local community. Basically spreading further the positive impact (economic) of steem. Plus it will motivate the local community to grow and plant more.

Amazing work!
Keep on! :)
We're also planting some trees at the moment here in germany.
greets :)

Kudos to you @luegenbaron for planting trees where you live. Thank you for your kind words. This wouldn't have been possible without you.

Well, I just plant them in my garden :)
Love plants and biology, botany.
People like you are important for this world!
Cheers

Resteemed to over 14300 followers and 100% upvoted. Thank you for using my service!

Send 0.200 Steem or 0.200 Steem Dollars and the URL in the memo to use the bot.
Read here how the bot from Berlin works.

@resteem.bot

We are happy to be part of the APPICS bounty program.
APPICS is a new social community based on Steem.
The presale was sold in 26 minutes. The ICO will start soon.
Read here more: https://steemit.com/steemit/@resteem.bot/what-is-appics

@resteem.bot

This post was upvoted and resteemed by @resteemr!
Thank you for using @resteemr.


@resteemr is a low price resteem service.
Check what @resteemr can do for you. Introduction of resteemr.