Using crypto for the common good

in #charity6 years ago

I've spoken to numerous charities over the last couple of years about getting them to accept crypto as donations, the issue however has always been that the donations are only going to come from the crypto community, which as we all know, even as it grows rapidly in size, is still tiny.

When you're focused on local charities it simply isn't enough to make it worth their while.

That got me to thinking though, how can we help charities benefit from the crypto evolution, even involving non crypto related people.

So, with that in mind I'll be visiting a charity local to me who helped me years ago when I was homeless. They effectively saved my life and now it's time to give back.

When I meet with them I'll be teaching them about cryptocurrencies and how they work. Then I'll be proposing that they include a new page on their website which will use the Coinhive software to mine Monero. In this way anyone will be able to visit their site, let the software run (openly and transparently) and donate to the charity that way.

Imagine that...a world where anyone, crypto related or not, can donate to charity simply by visiting a webpage and leaving it open for a few minutes.

The advertising campaign I envisage will drive people to visit the site at least once a day, for at least 5 minutes, donating their computing power to both securing the Monero blockchain and at the same time utilising the block rewards to raise money for the charity.

What are your thoughts on this? Can you see it as a good way to support worthwhile causes? Could it be a gateway to getting more people interested in crypto? Could it help remove negative views of the crypto ecosystem?

I'd like to think so. Share a thought, if you'd care to :-)