Some nice upgrades

in #cherokee7 years ago

So today I am going to share a couple of the upgrades that this xj is getting.

The WJ to XJ knuckle upgrade and steering is supposed to be a huge improvement to a dana 44 and 30. This upgrade will not only add the humongous WJ (Grand Cherokee 2002 and up) akebono Calipers, but it will also give you the option to run a stronger steering set up. This setup is amazing if you are modifying your jeep Cherokee Xj to run bigger tires.

The following are pictures of some google searched WJ /XJ knuckle upgrade.

Rusty's WJ Steering and Brake Conversion kit, http://www.rustysoffroad.com/rustys-wj-steering-and-brake-conversion-xj-tj-zj.html

rs-bc999-1.jpg

Here is a steering setup from a member from naxja, http://www.naxja.org/forum/archive/index.php/t-1004721.html

IMG_0104.jpg

It looks super beefy compared to the stock steering linkage and brakes, dont it?

stock steer.jpg

I currently have the Rock Krawler X-Factor system that runs an "over the knuckle" method, but I will be using these same parts for my WJ-XJ steering upgrade. (this system has been discontinued)

20160731_113513.jpg

and here is a sneak peek of some of the parts I will be using.

These ones I bought online from ebay for about 50 to 60 bucks with pads. They are for a WJ. I will be drilling them to 5x4.5 bolt pattern since the WJ uses 5x5 bolt pattern.

20170624_173811.jpg

You definetly need the Knuckles from WJ. Look how nice these are.

20170624_173644.jpg

20170624_173637.jpg

The calipers cost me about 40 bucks in the junk yard.

20170624_173542.jpg

My jeep has a Clayton 3 link long arm lift, so I decided to go with Clayton for the trackbar set up. If you have a high steer linkage you will need to upgrade your trackbar to make it parallel to your draglink, otherwise you will have a lot of problems with bumpsteer. Here is my clayton trackbar bracket for high steer.

20170624_173627.jpg

There are so many write ups out there to do this upgrade, all you have to do is google search wj xj knuckle upgrade and you will get tons of results. It isnt the cheapest mod, but I have heard that is one of the best things you can do for your rock krawler xj. I have to run, I am going to watch the new Transformers movie and go check out the car meet.

Keep tuning in!

My baby sitting outside my house.

20160810_184851.jpg

Sort:  

Congratulations @abraham44munoz! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Comment

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!