From 800 to 1700 in a year.

in #chess5 years ago

I started playing chess this year. March 6, to be more precise. I lost a game to my brother, and from then I started to play. A combination of him beating me, and I saw some beauty in the game. I really sucked in the beginning, and my rating dropped from 1500, where it starts, to 802 within a few games. 802 has been my lowest rating. I am kinda sad I didn't go to 800, as it's the lowest you can be.

Now I have played a bit over 1.000 games. Mostly rapid 10+0, which means you have 10 minutes on the clock, and the 0 means you will not get any added time per move you make.

I literally knew nothing about chess. Nothing! I knew how the pieces moved, but that's it. If you want to see a retard playing chess, click the link: https://lichess.org/bcCSO30s#30

Now I am playing at 1450-1550 mostly, which I think is pretty good when you think about that I just started playing chess 5 months ago. My goal for this year is 1700, which I think is possible, but I can feel it will be difficult to get pass 1600, but I am enjoying it and I can feel it changes me in a positive way. I will write more about that in another post.

Are you also playing chess? Where, what rating, and what have you learned from it?