Travel Photography in Chicago for Up Magazine, On Location with the Profoto C1 Plus

in #chicago4 years ago (edited)


Travel Photography in Chicago, Standing Tall for Up Magazine


I am a regular contributor to Europe’s leading inflight magazine: UP. Thanks to them I have visited many amazing places on planet Earth. One of the regular jobs I do for UP is photographing for articles in the magazine, which includes a lot of traveling. This time, I was for about one week in Chicago, photographing for the cover theme article in that issue. The images I have to capture at these kinds of jobs include street photography, landscape, portraits, interiors, even food photography, I also do a feature on the two lovely hotels we stayed in. Basically, everything we do during the trip is being captured. What I like about that type of job is, it takes me back to my early days of photography, where I have only my camera and the subject matter, looking for the best angles and interesting points of view. It brings out the pure essence of photography. I do usually take some kind sos extra light source with me, in Chicago I took Profoto C1PLUS, it was actually amazing and really brought allot to the table, as you will see below.
WITH THIS POST, I AM ALSO REMING YOU GUYS OF MY NEW INSTAGRAM ACCOUNT THAT IS DEDICATED TO MY TRAVELS. @JOAOCARLOSPHOTOTRAVEL


What gear did I take?


Going for a whole week abroad I had to shrink my gear to the most functional and practical mix I could imagine. I decided to take my Fujifilm GFX50s which turned out to be a thing I will do in future trips of the same kind. The dynamic range it has lets me photograph in any conditions with ease and getting amazing results in return. I took my two lenses for it, the 32-64mm which was most of the times on my camera and the 120mm Macro that I planned to use for the food part, but it also helped me capture some amazing shots of Fenway Park. Everything was packed in my ThinkTank Naked ShapeShifter 2 Backpack, and when I was shooting I was using the Think Tank Belt System. I also had My 3LeggedThing monopod with me and a lot of Sandisk SD cards, I had a chance to take the new Profoto C1 Plus flash.











Here is a video of my team and I utilizing the Profoto C1 in Chicago

5e8a2a8e30

And here are some of the images where I used the Profoto C1:

Chicago-RokaSushi-Joao-Carlos
Roka Sushi

Chicago-RokaSushi-Joao-Carlos-1
Roka Sushi

Chicago-RokaSushi-Joao-Carlos-2
Roka Sushi

Chicago-RokaSushi-Joao-Carlos-3
Roka Sushi

Chicago-RokaSushi-Joao-Carlos-4
Roka Sushi

Chicago-RokaSushi-Joao-Carlos-5
Roka Sushi

Chicago-Purple-Pig-Joao-Carlos
Purple Pig

Chicago-Mad-Social-Joao-Carlos
Mad Social

Chicago-Mad-Social-Joao-Carlos-1
Mad Social

Chicago-Mad-Social-Joao-Carlos-2
Mad Social

Chicago-Mad-Social-Joao-Carlos-3
Mad Social

Chicago-House-of-Blues-Joao-Carlos
House of Blues



Martha-Mae-Joao-Carlos
Martha Mae, Art Supplies & Beautiful Things

Matthew-Buccilla-Joao-Carlos
Matthew Buccilla, Cowboys and Astronauts

Chef Executive at the Omni Hotel Chicago Joao Carlos
Chef Executive at the Omni Hotel Chicago

Chess Records Joao Carlos
Chess Records

Chess Records Joao Carlos 1
Chess Records

Chess Records Joao Carlos 2
Chess Records

Chess Records Joao Carlos 3
Chess Records

Chess Records Joao Carlos - 4
Chess Records

Chess Records Joao Carlos 5
Chess Records

 

THOSE ARE SOME OF MY FAVORITE IMAGES FROM THE TRIP CREATED USING THE prfoto C1 PLUS

 

Posted from my blog with SteemPress : https://joaocarlosphoto.com/travel-photography-in-chicago-standing-tall-for-up-magazine/

Sort:  

hi dear @joaocarlosphoto, your life seems so adventurous, new places every month and beautiful places to photograph to make us dream !! the food photos are amazing, beautiful .-)) congratulations for your work and for the curie vote

Thanks @road2horizon, yes fortunately i travel a lot in my work, that s why i can post this images for all of you!!

good job!
The details he shares about his profession are interesting.
A world unknown to me.
I liked the Profoto C1 and what was achieved with his help and technique.
Great food photos, you lie on the table to make this happen. Hahaha
Congrats on a Curie vote!!

Thanks @Mariita52! Hope to see some of your pictures using the Profoto C1.

I have never heard of this inflight magazine but it could be due to the airlines that I'm using. However it does sound like a dream job! Lucky you :)

And your photos are fantastic! Thank you for sharing! :)

Hi @delishtreats the magazine is from the airline TAP (Portuguese airlines), probably it s difficult to get it in other airlines :( .
Thanks for the support

Hello Hello!

I loved the photos, they have a unique style, sushi is so appetizing ♡ I want to eat hahaha

Greetings from Venezuela

Thank you @iamsaray!
I love Venezuela! I havent been their for some years, hope i can visit again, soon...maybe when everything has cool down their.

Very cool article and lovely photos. Well done!
Thanks for the suggestion of following you on other Networks but Facebook was the only other Social Network I used... and I closed it over a year ago! 🤣

I understand why you stoped using Facebook...
Glad you liked the photos!

Congratulations @joaocarlosphoto! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 5000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 6000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Very nice pictures! I wish I had enough money to immediately buy a ticket to Chicago. What I loved the most was the happy face of Martha Mae, Matthew and the Chef. Many successes. A cordial greeting @joaocarlosphoto

Thanks Marcy, glad i could inspire you!!

Hi joaocarlosphoto,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.