Backyard Chickens... any help/tips appreciated!!

in #chickens7 years ago

Good Morning. It is a rainy day here in Western New York - but I am off in a few hours to take a class at a local holistic/spiritual center on chicken rearing! I have been interested in having some backyard chickens for a while now. I know that in my town I need a permit, can have up to 6 chickens, no roosters, and they must be enclosed. I plan on adding a very large walk in run to whatever coop I end up with for them. I hope to be the crazy chicken lady in my neighborhood...

14570368_10154406425396970_5123981410591652660_n.jpg

Any info/ tips always appreciated - Have a good day!!!

Sort:  

Congratulations @nefey1117! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

If you want to support the SteemitBoard project, your upvote for this notification is welcome!

As someone who grew up with chickens, my experience has taught me the 4 things they need to thrive: protection, comfort, happiness and love. Talk to them, pet them, give them good food and space to run around on. Happy, healthy hens are much more productive :)

oh - thank you... we plan on spending lots of time with our new additions when we get them. i appreciate the advice!

Excellent post lady @ nefey1117 very interesting, beautiful your hen, thank you very much for sharing

Thank you ....

Crazy chicken lady? LMAO! Fresh eggs are the best!