New Backyard Flock

in #chickens7 years ago

I am so Happy to say I finally got my backyard flock. They are 6 beauties... DSCF2224.JPG
This is Sunshine... she is quite the spitfire and seems to be in charge.

DSCF2200.JPG
This is Althea...she is also a boss!

DSCF2192.JPG
This is Cinnamon

DSCF2196.JPG
Our beautiful white silkie named Fiona, its hard to catch her beauty in a photo...she's fast

DSCF2223.JPG
Sunflower Seed has beautiful mottled brown and shimmering green feathers!

DSCF2230.JPG
and finally Snoop Dog - named by my 12 year old of course!! - he's fast as well and reminds me of one of the creatures from the Dark Crystal Movie----

Thanks for checking out my flock, they have brought me such joy already...

Sort:  

wow, these chickens look really well-fed. keep it up.

Oh - thanks, they get their layer feed... and mealworm treats and garden scrapes daily!

Keep up the excellent work.

Thanks - enjoying the chickens!! ( and eggs )!

They are nice chooks as we call them here in Australia. hi and following.

I have my first flock this year also! But... I have 21.... 😳 Haha. Which breed of yours is your favorite so far?

lol.... I think I would love to have 21, but because of where I live - residential area, i had to get a permit and am only allowed up to 6 hens.... They are all bantams so they are a bit smaller than the average chicken... The white silkie is so pretty ( we call her Fiona).... she's a favorite - but then again, they are all so special in their own way. Best of luck and I would love to hear more about your flock!!

Totally! I hope to share a detailed post about them sometime soon! I'm working on compiling some posts in my downtime.

Bantams are real interesting birds, that's for sure. I really like the Seramas! And I think there's these ones called Japanese something or other, they're all white with black tails! Love them too! I'd have to definitely make extra coops for them, tho.

Beautiful chicks!

Thank you!!!

Welcome to Steemit :)
I follow u, follow me back if u want lot of fun and amazing picture every day.

following you too!

Nice hens :) I've got 3 at the moment, only allowed up to 6 because I live in a city, Kópavogur in Iceland to be precise. I got Icelandic hens which are the same that Icelandic settlers took with them 1000 years ago from Norway, so they are rated unique, haven't changed all this time :)

that is so interesting/ amazing - I am only allowed up to 6 - I guess i am excited at least that i am permitted to have them. Best of luck to you and your birds!!!