I feel reawakened finally

in #chickenslast year

I been kind of a ghost from the blockchain

I have had a rough year and a half and have been so freaking depressed and haven't felt like writing, reading or interacting with the world. Today I woke up feeling like I have a ton to say. I am hoping this means I will be back active again on here. But depression can come and go in waves.

I been trying to keep busy doing other things since I seem to lost my inspiration

Focusing on building my photography business but also become more self reliant. This year I finally jumped into buying and raising Chickens. I first bought 9 hens. 3 of them were Easter Eggers and the other 6 were a mixed of what they called "rare Pullets" I am new to this so I didn't realize it wouldn't be long before the chickens could jump out of their brooder box and one of the Easter Eggers got out and my dog Esme ate her whole leaving nothing but a few feathers.

So we bought 4 more chickens to replace the one we lost

This my friends is called Chicken math. This is partly due to you can't buy just one or two chickens, most places have a min purchase of 4 to 6. But I was warned you plan x amount and you will end up with twice to three times as many. I planned to start with only 6 and buying 9 was accidental to begin with. (I only saw 3 in the rare pullet bin and told the guy I would take the 3 Eggers they had left and rest of the pullets and there was actually 6 in there)

So then I had to build a chicken coop

I did start the chicken coop a couple of weeks before I bought the chicks. Figured buying the chicks would keep us focused on getting the coop and run done. And it did. I also built a temporary run for them so I could take them outside every day.

296129142_10160352780868033_3921695683733487471_n.jpg

307199277_178784621330004_7150064757289665864_n.jpg

I also build an automatic feeder that I only have to fill up every other week

I actually built two of them. Because of that I only have to fill them up every other week. We also build an automatic waterer so I only have to fill that up about once every 10 days. I painted it black to keep light from penetrating it to keep algae growth down and to protect the pipe.

IMG_20221003_184958.jpg

IMG_20221003_193924.jpg

I am hoping the way I feel this morning lasts

I haven't felt like sharing much in a while. But losing so many people in such a short time can leave you feeling lost. Since June 2021 I have lost my godmother, one of my friends Mark died, my husband's childhood best friend died, my dog died, my cat died, my dad died, another close friend Brian of mine died, then my best friend Smurf died, then my cousin, and just a few weeks ago my childhood best friend died. I have never experienced so much death in such a short period of time. I hope they are over with cause I am tired of feeling like I am doing is grieving.

Sort:  

woww... this sounds brutal having so many (animals are buds as well) pass in such a short period of time. I can imagine this starts to mess with your head for a bit.

Glad to see you have the feeling again like you want to write stuff again, that is a good sign! Love the henhouse extravaganza. Ive been feeding the chicks from my neighbord every other two days but uhhh this week-feeder.Im down with that.

Take care and spread more words on chain!

It has been rough and I have never felt so down before in my life. I hope that today's feeling means I am starting to finally heal some from all this.
There are some really cool feeders out there.

Fingers crossed and hoping with you. Write the feeling away!

Welcome back

thanks

That's an amazing chicken coop, especially with the automated feeder and waterer. You should be proud for putting something like that together during such a challenging time.

Sorry to hear about your losses, wow. It's good to hear your voice on here again.

Doing something physical exhausting really helped, I think it help me physically work out the sadness I been feeling. I am glad to be back and am hoping this motivation to write keeps going.