You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Child Safety Series: An Introduction (Kidnapping, Pedophilia, and Sex Trafficking)

in #childsafety7 years ago (edited)

Thanks! Yes, I wouldn't dream of letting my children freely roam as I did. It's just not a risk I'm willing to take. It's worse because I'm a PI too. My spouse has enemies as well from putting people in prison as a witness against them. I've been a witness against people as well. They did the crime, so I'm not responsible for ruining their lives. Still, I have to wonder if one of those people may seek revenge one day.

I live in a pretty crowded suburban neighborhood. There are tons of different families with young children. Of them all though, there's only a single family that lets their children roam free. That family doesn't give a crap about their kids though, so maybe they don't care if they go missing or get hurt? I'm not sure but will never understand it. We let our children play, but an adult has to be present. It doesn't have to be me or my spouse either.

It just has to be a neighbor we trust who'll actually be watching them.

When I was around 8 years old though, I would be gone all evening after school. We had a rule to be home before dark. That was it. I roamed all over on my own. That's not going to happen with my middle son of the same age. Nope. Never.