You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Child Safety Series: An Introduction (Kidnapping, Pedophilia, and Sex Trafficking)

in #childsafety6 years ago

I'm not very knowledgeable about this, but I'm not so sure it was actually much safer back then, I think there was just more ignorance about it. Most people probably didn't even know what the word paedophile meant nevermind worry about it. Unfortunately there are tales of abuse within my own family among uncles and great uncles. It happened right under the nose of the people responsible for them and they had no idea. And jeez, I mean, I'm from Ireland, to be honest it's only really now that many of the stories are coming out of what went on in the religious institutions...

Thanks for the post! Kate

Sort:  

You're very welcome! I'll get the next post in this series done sooner than later. A break from Steemit was needed for various reasons, but I'm definitely not going anywhere. :)