Making Chilli!

in #chilli7 years ago (edited)

IMG_3376-COLLAGE.jpg
So I really enjoy my chilli's. As much as I dig Tabasco and the like, it's always been a hobby of mine to make my own chilli sauce. It's sort of a gamble sometimes mixing so many ingredients and trying to balance the acidity and the burn, but that's part of the challenge!

The first sauce I made was a mango-chilli salsa and it was just great, so once every few months I experiment with a new recipe once I've run out.

This one in particular was an absolute winner, the kind of sauce where if you have very little, it rewards with a wealth of flavour and just a little spice. If however, you pour it on like I do, well, sometimes you realise you've made a big mistake. It's a little thicker than your average sauce, so perhaps more of a salsa I suppose.

It has: plums, limes, lemons, 4 vinegars, peaches, onions garlic and obviously quite a few chillis.
These are Tabasco chilli's I have growing like weeds in the garden. They are rated as sweet and piquant but I've obviously treated them poorly because they are very angry...

Did you know the worse you treat a chilli plant, the hotter the chilli's become?

This made around 1.25l of sauce, some of which I gave away to fellow capsicum lovers.

I have managed to grow 3 Carolina Reaper (Guinness book of records holder for hottest chilli) plants and have them survive the winter (so far), so my next endeavour is going to be a real scorcher, will post pic's of the budding Carolina's soon!

Sort:  

Hi. I am a volunteer bot for @resteembot that upvoted you.
Your post was chosen at random, as part of the advertisment campaign for @resteembot.
@resteembot is meant to help minnows get noticed by re-steeming their posts


To use the bot, one must follow it for at least 3 hours, and then make a transaction where the memo is the url of the post.
If you want to learn more - read the introduction post of @resteembot.
If you want help spread the word - read the advertisment program post.


Steem ON!

This post was resteemed by @resteembot!
Good Luck!

Learn more about the @resteembot project in the introduction post.