Stereotypes in China

in #china6 years ago

image

I've been to a lot of countries and I found that most stereotypes aren't true but when I came to China I was quite suprised! Lots of Chinese people asked me questions about England which were their stereotypical view of my country and almost all of them were strange and I was suprised to hear them, like how Chinese people think there's an allocated time in the country where we all stop what were doing and have a cup of tea together like a religious communal cuppa as a country. I wasn't expecting the stereotypes people have about China to be so right, but most of them are! :D

image

Rice is eaten daily as I didn't think it would be. I really thought it was just a thing westerners joked about but it's eaten for at least one meal a day, some times all three. And if it's not rice then it's sure to be noodles!

The stereotype that Chinese are really good at math is also true as they study our high school math in middle school. So it's not that it's a natural talent, it's just because of their school curicullum. I'm over here teaching English and I often have a look at my young student's math homework and it looks soooooo difficult!

image

Almost all the stereotypes you hear are true but here are a few things I wasn't expecting over here.....

I assumed most of the population were going to be buddhist but I was suprised to find almost everybody I've met in the past four years are none religious. People don't even seem to like talking about the topic but you'll find if you can get a conversation started about it, almost everybody believes in god! But the biggest god in China is money :D You'd definately know what I mean if you've been haha

image

Chinese tradition also seems to be vanishing, it didn't feel the way I was expecting it to when I arrived, everybody spits, which sounds weird to say but it's true. Girls and young women don't but pretty much all males and woman older then 35 do. Not just spitting but really hocking it up to clear their thoats haha the constant sound of gargling flem and loud spitting is really horrible and I'm not sure why so many people do it! Littering is also a huge problem, almost everybody I see throws rubbish on the floor even know there are so many bins around. The parents do it so the kids copy.

image

The roads are insane in China! It's like wacky racers! People drive everywhere! Bikes on the pavement, cars drivng down the wrong side of the road, people driving the oppisite way around round abouts, it's crazy! :D

image

Aaaaah so much to say about China as usual as it's a crazy but fascinating country! I'll cut the post short as I could write all night and don't want to put too much in one post! Have a look at my previous/future posts for more! Thanks for reading! :D

image

Sort:  

China has a strange traditions but I think its very interesting, the picture of the traffic is a little bit crazy

I agree, it's very interesting :D

I used to get the egg wraps where they spread the dough thin on the skillet. Pretty tasty.

Mmmm yeah, I found a place where you can get a egg wrap with bbq sauce and cheese! Hao chi de :D

I really like this post anthonycruddas!

Thank you kindly sir :D

You are really good at writing😄
These are all truth, and a lot of things in China need to change.

Thank you very much! I'm glad you like my posts! :D