You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: China news roundup / Nachrichten 2020-02-28

in #china4 years ago

"And you are doing what?"
https://steemit.com/photography/@bossel/greek-carnival-was-cancelled-griechischer-karneval-abgesagt

Don't really see the point in changing anything at the moment.
If I go traveling I might wear a face mask on public transport (if masks are available), but that would be it pretty much.
Anyway, I prefer freedom over safety.

Re masks: Don't know which media you consume, but the ones I read don't say "Masks aren't working."
What I gather is that masks depending on ffp are not necessarily very effective in keeping the wearer safe. It's a matter of probability, because a) masks don't have a complete seal & b) the virus doesn't need to go directly from a carrier to you.
Masks decrease the probability of direct droplet infection through nose & mouth by 50 to 99% (depending on type of mask). But if you don't come into close contact to others, that probability is low, anyway.

"300,000 deaths from H1N1"
In the US? Wonder where you get that from. If that were true, we would see a spike in the death rate in 2009, which obviously wasn't there.

Sort:  

We can question each others news sources, fair enough, I said 300k in USA when really it was global numbers but the numbers were kept secret for 10 years.

But I take these steps to be safe and keep those around me safe. I don't want to be selfish. I don't think Coronavirus will kill me, but I could have it for it 10+ days without symptoms and give to my grandma or others who could die. I try to be safe to protect others.

Donald Trump asked for almost as much money to build a wall along the Mexico boarder, over a billion dollars, to fight or protect against coronavirus. Something must be up.

But hey, if you feel there is nothing to worry about and you enjoy freedom (what is freedom in USA?) just go about your life as usual. Trump is worried, like billions of tax payers dollars worried. Just a thought. God bless you.