So, The Chinese Communist Party Calls Me, And They're All Like...

in #china4 years ago

The title is clickbait, although it may well have been the CCP that called me.

So I was watching a CGTN video on YouTube today. CGTN is, if you're not aware,

"a Chinese international English-language news channel of the state-owned China Global Television Network group, which is part of Beijing-based China Central Television and under the control of the Publicity Department of the Communist Party of China."

I like to try to look at all sides of the issues.

Anyway, I decided to reply to some of the one-sided comments on the vid that I disagreed with. Turns out, some people just don't appreciate dialogue! There were replies to my replies, which were about freedom of speech. Can you believe there are people who will use free speech to ARGUE AGAINST free speech? Truly mind boggling.

So I'm typing out my reply to one of these free speech haters, and I get a phone call. "Unknown Caller" was the number. I answered, of course, because I just love a good mystery.

As I put the phone to my ear, I'm befuddled by what I hear coming from the speaker. A recording of a woman speaking Chinese? Strange, because here in Japan, the scammers usually speak Japanese, believe it or not. I don't understand Chinese at all, but the voice didn't sound happy. It sounded a bit like I was being scolded. It sounded exactly like this:

The recording stopped. I hung up. What the hell was that?

My first thought was, I've been hacked. Somebody in the comments didn't like what I was saying, quickly found my phone number somehow, which must be connected to my username somewhere, and called me with a prerecorded message.

chrisnguyen8gxbW4xSalwunsplash.jpg

Then I did a little research.

Turns out, this is a scam that has been going on for quite some time. The scammers robocall random people all over the world looking for Chinese nationals living abroad. Google it for more info.

It still creeped me out, and I'm still not 100% convinced it was a coincidence. There are hackers amongst the robocall scammers, and the CCP obviously has hackers working for them. It could very well be that I crossed one of their paths. But that would be a really weird way for them to respond.

Well, I have to go now. Someone from Russia is calling. Who could it be this time?

Sort:  

Very funny! Don’t go to Hong Kong!
They might stalk you!

Take care.

No new post?!
I was waiting for the Russians to call you! Haha.

Congratulations @kendewitt! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 40000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 41000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Congratulations @kendewitt! You received a personal award!

Thank you for the witness votes you made to support your Steem community and for keeping the Steem blockchain decentralized

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Use your witness votes and get the Community Badge
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!