ENCOURAGING THE ENCOURAGER

I remember a brother today, everyone knew him in the church we attended many years ago. He was an encourager. If he knew of someone with a need, he wouldn't rest until he met it or until he got someone who could. He wasn't a pastor, but most people thought he was. He visited. He counselled. He prayed for people. No one could miss church two weeks in a row without having brother J visit him. He was one smiling, energetic brother who was always smiling and available. He didn't seem to have a care in the world. As busy as he always was in helping people, I never heard him complain about anyone. I had seen him respond to the most abrasive insults with good matured jokes and sweet laughter.

I returned from a trip and noticed that brother J wasn't in church. I asked some of his 'friends' why, and they couldn't give me a definite answer. One said maybe he had traveled to see his family. Another said maybe he was busy doing something important. All I got was maybes, and more maybes from his 'beasties.' I asked some guys who had been helped by brother J, and they couldn't tell me anything useful. Even those in leadership couldn't tell me anything important.
During the week, I decided to look for brother J. It took me two days to find his house. I was terribly shocked. This gracious brother was living in the most inhospitable condition.
A boy showed me his room, the room he used to live in. Brother J had died four months earlier.
Lets try to pray for our pastors, leaders and most especially encourage the encouragers!

Sort:  

Hi! I am a robot. I just upvoted you! I found similar content that readers might be interested in:
http://knowxup.com/2018/06/18/encouraging-the-encourager.html

Well done @chioma-amiable! You successfully guessed the match result.

Group Phase - Russia vs Egypt
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Do you like the SteemitBoard Corld Cup Contest?
Vote for @steemitboard as a witness and get one more award!