Rededication - How God did it 'for' me

in #christian-trail5 years ago (edited)

In the past, I've tried to rededicate myself to Christ. But it was saying the prayer with my logic. My heart was unmoved. I didn't get that strength and dedication back, when I first accepted Christ.

Many things happened in the past few years, which had weakened that strength and dedication. How do I get that back? One week ago I asked God: 'But how then...?'

Such a short simple question. But God still hears it. And He answered...

Three days later, I saw a post on facebook. It was a video with this title: 

FROM MODEL TO MISSIONARY

I watched it. And it touched my heart so much that I began to cry. Some sentences of the video just spoke to me. I felt as if God was telling me to come back to Him. 

The video ended. And it automatically jumped to another video, with this title:

Atheist turned into christian

I watched. But I didn't find it interesting. I skipped some minutes of the video. It went straight to this exact sentence (not 1 second later, nor a second earlier): 'Let's pray...'. So I prayed. It was a repentence prayer (haha, how coincidence huh?). When I was repeating their prayer, it felt as if I was back in time. I felt I was 17 again. That specific moment when I accepted Christ into my life. I experienced His grace again. Not a grace that only my logic could understand, but a grace that touched my heart. My heart understood it. 

After the prayer I heard in myself (and saw words with closed eyes): 'You are forgiven'. My heart found peace again. That 'safe place' that only God can give to my heart.

Then I heart in myself this sentence:

'For all those times you stood by me'

It's from the song 'Because you loved' me from Celine Dion. I googled it and listened to it. The lyrics starting from the beginning till the end spoke to me. I remembered all the times that God was with me, through that song. I wept again. 

Automatically it jumped to another video:

'Sometimes' of Britney Spears

'Sometimes I run, sometimes I hide'. Yes that's me towards God. Those lyrics spoke what my heart wanted to say to God, but had no courage to say it out loud. I heard in myself (a still small voice) of God: 'It's fine. Even when you run and hide. It's fine.'. My heart was comforted. 

I was very touched. Strength and dedication to go all the way for God, came back. I rededicated myself... finally. 

I'm a person that likes to watch video's and listen to songs. So God touched me in this way; with video's and songs. 

No one on earth can move our hearts as how God moves our heart. If you are longing for a rededication back to God. You can ask God the same question I used: 'But how then...?' I'm sure He will answer you. And your heart shall be touched in such a way, that you never thought it was possible, again.

I believed in Christ 18 years ago. I was touched at that time. 18 years later He can still touch my heart and move me back to rededicate myself towards Him. God is able, when we are unable. 

Asking can never hurt... :)

P.S. Pls feel free to share it with others. If you have any questions or you would like to share your story of rededication, pls feel free to do so. I would love to hear about your rededication :)