Lectio Divina

in #christian7 years ago

Dear Friends,

Let's not just read The Holy Scriptures, there is an art to gaining understanding and I believe it comes from slowly reading The Word of God and praying it back to Him. Lectio Divina is Latin for "holy reading", meaning the "holy reading or divine choosings" of the Scriptures. It's not uncommon in the hurried world that we live in, to rush through the activities that we hope will help us change as we search for ways to make ourselves and/or those around us to be happy and have inner peace. There are so many of us looking for The Way to find happiness within ourselves and our relationships. Often we seek and pay for advice from people who are also dealing with issues that leave them longing for the same peace for themselves. I want to encourage you to slow down when it comes to reading The Bible and practice the lost art of savoring His Word in His presence. When we release our will for The Holy Spirit to teach us, as we are unhurried and allow eternal truths to have entrance into our spirits, we are changed. The Apostle Paul said in Ephesians 5:26 that our minds are renewed and cleansed through the washing with the water through The Word. We have a loving Heavenly Father who wants us to have peace and freedom from the pressures of the world. He loves us so much that He sent His only begotten Son to rescue us and who ever believes in Him will live eternally with Him (John 3:16)

I encourage you to pause for a few minutes and simply ask The Holy Spirit to reveal The Truth to you regarding God's love for you. Pick up His Holy Word and slowly read it and you will see that His Words are alive and will speak to your heart. When you sense Him speaking to you as you find promises that were written especially for you, then thank Him and pray them back to Him. One of my prayers may go something like this : Heavenly Father, I thank you that you love me so much that you sent Jesus your only begotten Son to rescue me so that You could adopt me to become a son in your family. I am thankful that you have made a way for me to be with you forever. I will continually worship and praise You for Your love, mercy and tender kindness that you have given to me.

I encourage you to be sensitive to The Holy Spirit who is your helper. As you speak to Your Heavenly Father, become aware of promptings to listen for His voice. Be still and push out the voice of the world and all distractions. Listen for The Voice of Peace that will come bringing confirmation that His Word is our Salvation.

Sort:  

Thanks for the post. I enjoy reading inspirational posts throughout the day. It helps me keep my mind and my heart clear.

Thank you, encouraging one another is what this site is all about..

Thanks for your inspirational words, and thanks for the follow!

Thank you as well

Congratulations @charlz! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

If you want to support the SteemitBoard project, your upvote for this notification is welcome!