My Way

in #christian7 years ago

Well I lived my life my way
Trying not to hurt anyone
I wasn’t looking for trouble
Just some down dirty fun.

I should have known better
And so I lived on the run
When I look back behind me
I see a mess that can’t be undone.

In all my getting I got some
And some big debts to pay
But the one thing I wanted
Kept slipping away

As much as I tried to mend it
The more hopeless it became
I was the hand of destruction
Until I quit this fools game

Yes I lived my life my way
Trying not to hurt anyone
I wasn’t looking for trouble
Just some down dirty fun.

I should have known better
And so I lived on the run
When I looked back behind me
There’s still a mess that can’t be undone.

You can hide from your family
And put your head in the sand
You think you can’t go on living
And don’t want a helping hand

You feel your future is gone now
And there is nothing left to share
But just because you can’t see it
Doesn’t mean it’s not there.

Blinded by my own pride
I was all I could see.
Then I got a call from and old friend
God had waiting for me.

Sometimes things get broken
And there is nothing no one else can do
God takes two of the pieces
And makes something altogether shiny
and new.

Now you can live your life My way
You won’t hurt anyone
I will keep you from troubles
We’ll have some good clean fun

There isn’t anything better
There is no need to ever run
And when you look back behind you
You’ll see my bright smiling Son.

 Cary Tate 2015