Renegade Christian

in #christian7 years ago

For my whole life I went to church,
I prayed to God, I read his word;
I studied hard to show myself approved.
I’ve been baptized and sanctified.
I’ve spoke in tongues until I cried.
I’ve tried to act each time the spirit moved.

But there are things I do that I can’t quit.
Sometimes I play the fool.
I can get mad at the drop of a hat and say some things that just aren’t cool.
If the truth were told I rather be drinking a beer and shooting pool.
I regret sometimes I forget to obey the golden rule.

But...

By His grace I’ve been saved.
By His grace I have been saved.
There is now no condemnation for by His grace I have been saved.

Now I probably don’t measure up to your favorite bible verse.
Sometimes I think evil thoughts, I smoke and drink and curse.
But if you’re broke and hungry I will open up my purse.
I don’t always get it right, sometimes I make it worse.

And there are things I do that I can’t quit.
Sometimes my life’s a mess.
And I have blown it big time when God put me to the test.
And I’ve missed out on blessings when I criticized the rest.
But I know He will forgive me every time that I confess.
Because...

By His grace I’ve been saved.
By His grace I have been saved.
There is now no condemnation for by His grace I have been saved.

Some folks would criticize me for the way I’ve lived my life.
But I tried to bring my kids up right and be good to my wife.
I worked my fingers to the bone just trying to get ahead.
And every now and then pay attention to the words that preacher said.

But there are things I do that I can’t quit.
Some fights I always lose.
The fact of the matter is I just don’t fit into the mould that some would choose.
And there are things that other people do that make me blow a fuse.
Until the words of the preacher come back to me and chase away my blues.

When he said...

By His grace we are saved.
By His grace we have been saved.
We all fall short of His glory.
But by his grace we have been saved.

Sort:  

Congratulations @lefthandedtexan! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!